Clockworkmod ROM Manager for Ally!!!


Last Updated:

  1. tjarvis

    tjarvis Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    6
    Just FYI, I found an update on my wife's Ally for ROM Manager and updated it, to find that there is now support for the Ally! I installed it a few days ago after rooting it within minutes of pulling it out of the box. Link below from twitter!!

    Twitter / Koushik Dutta: LG Ally recovery and ROM M ...

    Now yall devs get to deving!!! I'm sure there are plenty like me who would donate for some sweet ROMs and OC kernels.

    turns out there isn't much on it for now, but...the time will come lol
     

    Advertisement
    esmith4211 likes this.
  2. zacwhite15

    zacwhite15 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    12
    verified :). clockworkmod does work. :) also the recovery menu works as well. and its easier to navigate, the volume buttons are use for up and down, the call button is the enter button and the end button is mapped for back
     
  3. TPR300C

    TPR300C Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    23
    Does ROM MANAGER flash the recovery image for you or do you still have to manually do it first?
     
  4. connwa

    connwa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    11
    it does it for you. all you have to do is click and ive permission. CM6 should be here soon
     
    TPR300C likes this.
  5. TPR300C

    TPR300C Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    23
    Downloaded ROM MANAGER then clicked on FLASH CLOCKWORK RECOVERY and it froze during the loading process. Eventually it force closed. Rebooted phone and tried it again and it worked! Already made a backup of the phone. Hopefully we start seeing some DEV on this phone. I feel like it has potential
     
  6. connwa

    connwa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    11
    yeah the same thing happened to me but hey if you enable advanced and you can install the newer superuser
     
  7. esmith4211

    esmith4211 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    i installed the su2.3 when i first rooted my ally, but when i tried to open it, it always fc. when i flashed my first rom (allyv8 ultralight) it had su2.2.2 or whatever and it worked just fine. should i try to install the one from rom manager?
     
  8. connwa

    connwa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    11
    it works faster and its perfectly working for me
     
    esmith4211 likes this.
  9. getitnowmarketing

    getitnowmarketing Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    788
    We have been "deving" for a while now have you not seen the stuff dossa, zacwhite, and I have been doing? I was amazed at how quick koush made this recovery. I linked mine for him and he downloaded and made his clockwork for ally in about 5 minutes.
     
  10. tjarvis

    tjarvis Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    6

    i have seen and have been following, just trying to motivate! i have L1 experience on a pc be it windows or linux, but by no means can i make the magic happen developing stuff. i was excited to see ROM Manager support and i wish i had the talent to do what yall do. i wasnt being rude at all and i hope no one took it that way, i just know there are plenty of folks who scour these forums looking for answers quietly and never give you creative ones a thumbs up or "go team". thank you for your hard work!
     
  11. reventon670

    reventon670 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    can someone please please help me, im completely new when i comes to this rooting stuff i went to rom manager than i went to clockwork recovery and didnt wipe out all my data or whatever and it did all the like commands and whatnot than restarted my phone and now it seems like its stuck on this droid animation where the like red eye is there it starts out saying droid than morphs into this like droid animation and it seems stuck of something and i took out my battery to see if it would stop it and it didnt work i started my phone and it sayd "droid" and now it just keeps playing that animation over and over it wont go anywhere except for this animation.....please help me
     
  12. savoxis

    savoxis Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    812
    Likes Received:
    708

    Please try this.
    .Pull the Battery
    .Replace
    .Hold down the SEND MENU and END buttons down (the bottom left and 2 on the right)
    .You should be in recovery, from here you can restore a backup (if you made one) or wipe your cache and data, then reflash the rom from your sdcard

    When you flash a custom rom it will take a bit for it to start the first time, sometimes a few minutes, it is possible the rom hadnt finished initializing itself before you pulled the battery and this is why you are now stuck in a boot loop.
     
  13. tical364

    tical364 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    have any of you had problems with the recovery? when i flash it, it works the first time but them all of the subsequent times will not work. any help is appreciated
     
  14. death2all110

    death2all110 VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,995
    Likes Received:
    1,208
    Go into rom manager, press menu key, choose settings, check the box next to erase recovery. press back, Choose Flash ClockworkMod Recovery.
     
  15. brizzad505

    brizzad505 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    3
    I have download Clockwork Mod/ROM Manager 2.5.0.3. I can go in to the ROM manager app and "flash Alternate Recovery" to RA_GNM Recovery v1.2.4. It says its successful. I then go and choose the option to "Reboot into Recovery. It will reboot into the flashed recovery mode. However, once I boot back into the OS and reboot the phone I cant get into the Alternate Recovery mode without reflashing it inside ROM Manager.

    Once the alternate recovery mode is flashed, shouldn't it stay that way? I should just be able to reboot the phone, Press Send, End, and Menu and it boot in to Nandroid recovery mode. However, when iI do this it goes past the LG Screen and gives me the quick android robot with and exclamation point and then boots into the OS.

    Any suggestions would be appreciated.
     
  16. death2all110

    death2all110 VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,995
    Likes Received:
    1,208
    Try that...its posted above your post, but intead flash the alternate recovery
     
  17. brizzad505

    brizzad505 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    3
    Well, I went into ROM Manager, deleted the recovery, reflashed the recovery ROM, and chose to reboot into recovery mode from within ROM Manager. That booted me into the clockwork recovery mode but once I booted all the way up to the OS and did a simple reboot (while pressing Send-End and Menu), it still gave me the android triangle with the exclamation mark and would not let me into recovery mode.

    Its almost like the recovery mode rom I am trying to use is getting overwritten by the stock one. Does that make any sense?

    The problem with this is if by sum change I hose my ROM, and I am unable to get into the ROM Manager App, I wont be able to get into the recovery console at start up to recover, thus nullifying the ability and the usefulness of the backup/restore
     
  18. brizzad505

    brizzad505 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    3
    Its like once I go into Mod manager and flash the recovery, I have one chance to boot into recovery mode and then I am locked out agaion until I go back into ROM Manager and reflash.
     
  19. getitnowmarketing

    getitnowmarketing Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    788
    You need to remove install-recovery.sh to make clockwork or my recovery persist Instructions for adb, terminal, and easy flashable zip in my recovery thread.
     

Share This Page

Loading...