Closing Applications/Multi-Tasking?Support


Last Updated:

  1. vantiveman

    vantiveman Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hi,
    I have noticed (since getting a Task Manager) that apps that I run do not all seem to quit when I exit. For example, I load up an application, and then finish by using the back key, which takes me back to the 'desktop'.
    When I then load up task manager I find that the app is usually still listed. Also I will usually find setting and a number of other apps listed. nb. These are Apps and not services.
    As a new Magic user I wonder if I am doing something wrong or maybe not closing apps correctly. Some have an 'exit' entry in the context menu, but many others do not, and for these maybe I am not correctly closing them when I think I have by using the back key.
    Also, does the Magic multi-task. Is there a way to switch between running applications?
    Sorry, all this seems that it should be obvious, but even after downloading the full user guide pdf, I am still no wiser on the subject.
    Finally, is it true that to use the alarm clock I have to leave the phone powered up? My old Nokias used an alarm that worked when the phone was powered off, and even gave the option to turn the phpne on when the alarm went off. I assume this isn't possible with Android/Magic?
    Thanks for any information,.
    Al.
     

    Advertisement
  2. vikingisson

    vikingisson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    856
    Likes Received:
    24
    Yes it multitasks and having some apps in the background won't hurt anything. Linux based OSs are well behaved with RAM and CPU. You can pull up a list of running apps by long pressing the Home key.

    I don't know about the alarm clock when off but you generally don't need to turn off the phone. It is designed to be on all the time and if setup sensibly will do fine and run at least a full day on a charge. Some folks pride themselves on a long "uptime"
     
  3. CodeMonkey

    CodeMonkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Messages:
    570
    Likes Received:
    110
    You can use various apps to silence your phone overnight without missing alarms.
    I use Timeriffic to mute the phone overnight and turn brightness right down - alarms still function regardless.
     
  4. slarti

    slarti Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    9
    This just lists recently used apps, not the currently running apps. You need a task manager, e.g. taskiller, to see what's running.

    If you're worried about background apps or your magic is slow because of background apps I greatly recommend taskiller, it gives you a widget that sits on the desktop telling you how many programs are running and kills them all if you click the widget.
     
  5. vikingisson

    vikingisson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    856
    Likes Received:
    24
    No, it lists the currently running apps for easy task switching. I'm not talking about background tasks you might want to kill, just the front end apps that are loaded. Task switching and app killing are two different things yes but that Home key is handy for switching.
     
  6. vantiveman

    vantiveman Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hello and thank you for these replies. Sorry I have been slow in responding, but Eurostar problems have left me at home without my laptop!
    From what I read in the user guide I believe that the long press on the home key indeed is for showing only recently run Apps. However, I downloaded jkAppSwitch, which shows running apps and allows me to either switch to them or kill them. I also use Advanced Task Killer now, as it often shows more things running that jkAppSwitch, though some might be services. Still a bit odd that there is nothing 'out of box' for showing and switching apps.
    For the clock, yep, I'll just leave it turned on but will make sure nothing unnecessary is still running.
    Thanks for your input.
    Al.
     
  7. lusher00

    lusher00 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    NO!!! The Home key lists the 6 MOST RECENTLY USED APPLICATIONS!

    Try it for your self...
     
  8. vikingisson

    vikingisson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    856
    Likes Received:
    24
    Which coincidently are the running apps left in the background. :cool: I use it all the time. Apple thought enough of it to call it the task switcher for their amazing technology call multi tasking. wonder if android will do the same... ;)
     
  9. slarti

    slarti Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    9
    Sorry I still disagree with you.

    If you use a task manager to kill ALL apps left running in the background then press the home key it will still list the 6 most recently used apps even though the apps are not running in the background.
     
  10. vikingisson

    vikingisson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    856
    Likes Received:
    24
    Even better. last 6 apps and/or effectively all the apps still in the background.
     
  11. GreatBigDog

    GreatBigDog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    46
    You can also long press on the power button and select "Silent mode" from the list. Alarms will still sound but phone won't ring or give audible message notifications.

    gbd
     
  12. GreatBigDog

    GreatBigDog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    46
    That's because it's not a "Task Manager" it's just a list of the most recently used apps.

    gbd
     
  13. vantiveman

    vantiveman Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    6
    You know, I still find it amazing that an App switcher was not included as an out-of-box application or hot-key combination. I have seen apps to switch between background applications by shaking or some other thing, but this it seems such a basic piece of functionality to miss. Hey guys, we have a phone that can multi-task but we won't provide you with a way to switch between them! You gotta be kidding me!
     
  14. CodeMonkey

    CodeMonkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Messages:
    570
    Likes Received:
    110
    I prefer to think that they've left it up to us to choose how we want to switch apps.. Personally I just use the home key my running apps are usually the last 6, or the background app has a link in the notification bar (beebplayer, music, etc)
     
  15. GreatBigDog

    GreatBigDog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    46
    Just open the app again. If it's running in the background it will revert to that image, otherwise it will just startup as normal.

    gbd
     
  16. slarti

    slarti Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    9
    If you read the whole thread you'll see that you and I are both trying to make the same point.
     
  17. vantiveman

    vantiveman Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hi Guys,

    Thanks for the feedback. I guess I'll use a combination of both suggestions, so I'll use the home key first, otherwise I'll just run the app again.

    Cheers,
    Al.
     

Share This Page

Loading...