CM10 progress Update Thread


Last Updated:

  1. ZeroGeined

    ZeroGeined Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    34
    Sorry about that. I was getting excessively frustrated about it. This is a whole new beast for me and I'd also figured a thread on it might help others too. I do greatly appreciate the help though.
     

    Advertisement
  2. totlth

    totlth Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    384
    Sorry about what? I wasn't talking about anyone in particular. You didn't do anything to be sorry for.
     
  3. totlth

    totlth Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    384
    I will answer any question asked of me if I know the answer. I was just stating the above because its a better way to "learn" new stuff. It seems to me that I retain the info better when I have all the context with it as apposed to just the answer. I was making a suggestion, I wasn't griping.
    Stay groovy all
     
  4. jerryag

    jerryag Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    48
    Everything going well still totlth? I was hoping you would have pushed a test build out! The impaitence D: I hope to see something within the next week. I don't like stock x.x
     
  5. totlth

    totlth Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    384
    yeah still going well just racking my brain trying to figure out what I'm missing.
     
  6. jerryag

    jerryag Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    48
    Don't get yourself too distracted with the difficult stuff and overlook something that's right in front of your face! We all do that all so often. Just keep check with the build/error logs if there are any, always helpful lol
     
  7. totlth

    totlth Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    384
    DjSidEShoW likes this.
  8. isaacj87

    isaacj87 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    1,793
    Can you post the output of logcat? I can probably help in getting it booting. Does it make it to the boot animation at least?

    EDIT: Just looked at your device tree... Is it current? Because you're not pulling any proprietary blobs off the stock ROM. Have a look at my device tree. My device is also a MSM8960, so there will be similarities... http://github.com/ikarosdev (either android_device_lge_ms870 or l1m)
     
    DjSidEShoW and totlth like this.
  9. totlth

    totlth Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    384
    Don't know if I have the proprietary files right , but i have pulled them and I was gonna upload it to repo just havent yet.

    No , I do not get to bootanimation. After the splash and android guy I getr a black screen.
    So I cant get a logcat. adb doesnt get loaded/started is what I have assumed.

    Edit: I have been building kernel inline with cm and it builds fine, and I have the kernel source in repo as well

    Edit 2: Every time I try to add the includes via the device tree I get build errors. Which is the reason I started building kernel inline and also cuz it builds the modules
    I have noticed that alot of folks put their blobs on the device.mk , does that make a difference. and also the adreno files are supposed to be for jb is why i have them on the device.mk, they are not from stock.
     
    DjSidEShoW likes this.
  10. isaacj87

    isaacj87 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    1,793


    What branch of CM are you building? When you pulled the source, did you use this command to initialize the pull:


    Code (Text):
    1. repo init -u git://github.com/CyanogenMod/android.git -b [B]jellybean[/B]
    If so, I checked your Boardconfig.mk. I believe you'll want to change this define in your kernel section:

    Code (Text):
    1. BOARD_MKBOOTIMG_ARGS := --ramdisk_offset 0x01300000
    to:

    Code (Text):
    1. BOARD_FORCE_RAMDISK_ADDRESS := 0x01300000
    The define you're currently using is for CM10.1 (Android 4.2). If you're not making it to the CM boot ani, that means you're not clearing the low-level boot process. I recommend changing what I suggested above, and removing some stuff out of ramdisk. CM has some of its own inits, but you can supplant your own if you find some of your hardware doesn't work (e.g. init.avid.rc or something like that). You'll definitely need your own ueventd to set the permissions for your device specific hardware.
     
    DjSidEShoW likes this.
  11. totlth

    totlth Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    384
    I'm working on cm10.1 , and thats why I used that arg, cuz the other is deprecated after android 4.1

    Any suggestion on which inits to remove. I wasn't sure is why I put em all except goldfish. I had an inclining about the qcom-core and qcom-main sh's but again I wasn't sure.

    And thank you for your help and input, it's much appreciated.
     
    DjSidEShoW likes this.
  12. isaacj87

    isaacj87 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    1,793
    Okay, that makes sense now. I'll have a look at your stock ramdisk. I'll fork your device tree on Github, so you can have any of the changes I make (I'll send a pull request, and you can merge my changes if you like them).

    To answer your edit above, some devs like to include all the proprietary prebuilts in their device.mk, but I like having them separated (i.e. proprietary-files.txt, extract-files, and setup-makefiles scripts). This gives a bit of modularity. if I find I have a missing blob, it's easier to add it once to proprietary-files.txt. Furthermore, it makes it more accessible for others to build too. They simple run the scripts and build. However, this is a stylistic choice for devs; both ways work the same way, and will end up with the same results.

    I'm assuming you guys don't have a locked bootloader on your devices?

    Oh, and BTW, does somebody have a stock system and boot image? I'd like to tear them apart to see what I can find.

    EDIT: BTW, you should be able to reuse the prebuilt EGL/Adreno libs from the stock ROM.
     
    DjSidEShoW and totlth like this.
  13. jerryag

    jerryag Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    48
    Awesome, I'm glad someone is able to give totlth a helping hand. I stopped commenting in order to give him some time where he can just do this on his own time but, I'm sure by now his head is starting to implode. Good luck hopefully you guys can get past the roadblock :)
     
    DjSidEShoW likes this.
  14. totlth

    totlth Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    384
    I'm fairly new to the repo thing. Is there anything I need to do for the pull request.

    As far as the boot.img I can upload the stock one, but the ramdisk folder in repo is basically it minus for the goldfish
     
    DjSidEShoW likes this.
  15. totlth

    totlth Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    384
    DjSidEShoW and isaacj87 like this.
  16. isaacj87

    isaacj87 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    1,793
    I've got a huge overhaul coming your way. Question for you though, where did you get the ramdisk offset address because I'm getting something much different than you.
     
    DjSidEShoW likes this.
  17. totlth

    totlth Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    384
    Got it from decompiling the boot in the kitchen
     
    DjSidEShoW likes this.
  18. totlth

    totlth Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    384
    The rec img wouldn't boot so I started looking for reasons and that fixed it. Originally I had the jb arg but then switched to the 4.2 arg
     
    DjSidEShoW likes this.
  19. isaacj87

    isaacj87 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    1,793
    Oh, okay... The reason I ask is because I decompiled boot (using the Kitchen), and I'm getting an offset of:

    Code (Text):
    1. Ramdisk Load Address: 0x81500000
    Was that where it was originally?
     
    DjSidEShoW likes this.
  20. totlth

    totlth Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    384
    Yes. But had to modify it to fit the arg properly
     
    DjSidEShoW likes this.
  21. totlth

    totlth Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    384
    Did I get a lot wrong? Lol
     
    ZeroGeined and DjSidEShoW like this.
  22. ZeroGeined

    ZeroGeined Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    34
    Wooo! Making progress!

    Keep up the good work!
     
  23. isaacj87

    isaacj87 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    1,793
    Hey, I just have another couple commits, and then I think I'll have something that might start to boot.

    When I'm ready, you can simply download my device tree at its current state and replace it with your tree in source to test it out. If it works, I'll send you a pull request on Github and you can merge it.
     
    ZeroGeined and DjSidEShoW like this.
  24. DjSidEShoW

    DjSidEShoW Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    49
    Thanx guys, to be working so hard for us for basically nothing in return. Totlth, you're the man & isaacj87 thanx for all your help, from the past few posts before you stepped in it seemed like totlth was swimming in circles. Or as he said "chasing my tail" :D
     
    isaacj87 likes this.
  25. isaacj87

    isaacj87 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    1,793
    Okay, I believe it should be good to go now. Try seeing if that will get it to at least make it to the CM boot animation.

    You can find my (current) replacement device tree here: https://github.com/ikarosdev/android_device_zte_elden/archive/master.zip

    Make sure to clean out the whole source (make clobber), and run the extract-files script again. Any leftover stuff from previous builds will definitely cause booting to fail if not stop the build process.

    If the thing won't build, post the error here, and I'll correct it and update my device tree. If you get a semi-booting build (or fully booting), I'll go ahead and send up a pull request. :)
     
    ZeroGeined, DjSidEShoW and totlth like this.

Share This Page

Loading...