1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

CM9 Alpha 2 - No GPS


Last Updated:

  1. MartyMcFly85

    MartyMcFly85 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    1
    I am wondering if anyone knows how to fix this problem. I am hooked on CM9 is just a great rom. I need GPS though.

    Would flashing a modem via Odin help? I'm a little worried doing so may brick this phone.

    Any suggestions?
     

    Advertisement
  2. rounsy222

    rounsy222 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    69

    Modem may help. But the work around on all ics roms has been to acquire GPS while on a gb rom and then with GPS on flash a ics rom.
     
  3. MartyMcFly85

    MartyMcFly85 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    1
    Would it be safe to flash a EL or EK modem?
     
  4. rounsy222

    rounsy222 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    69

    Ymmv but yes it should be. I haven't been on cm since the initial release so I am not totally current on latest do's and dont's of it but I know on all tw roms modems are completely independent of the rom and or kernel and you can use any of them on any build.
     
  5. chrlswltrs

    chrlswltrs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,728
    Likes Received:
    1,790
    Flashing a modem in Odin won't damage the phone at all. Modems are completely separate from the kernel and ROM on this phone.

    Try alpha 3, it is supposed to resolve some GPS issues. I didn't have any GPS issues with alpha 2 so I don't know if it will fix yours or not.

    Also I flashed FD16 modem a few days ago and it is running great. If you need it pm me and I'll send you the tar
     
  6. rounsy222

    rounsy222 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    69

    Thanks for clarifying that on cm. From what I have seen and my own experience each phone and each persons area will react entirely different on each modem. El26 and fc15 has given me the best results. I am in the process of testing fd19 right now.
     
  7. JaydeEvo

    JaydeEvo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    7
    I am using Alpha 3 now. MUCH BETTER GPS
     
  8. rounsy222

    rounsy222 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    69

    good to hear. Thanks
     
  9. MartyMcFly85

    MartyMcFly85 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    1
    Does anyone have a link you alpha 3? I've seen alpha 1 4.0.3 and alpha 2 4.0.4 only.
     
  10. chrlswltrs

    chrlswltrs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,728
    Likes Received:
    1,790

Share This Page

Loading...