Cmon HTC-VerizonGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. SamMax

    SamMax Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,767
    Likes Received:
    1,683
    So all of Verizons vigorous testing and I wait 5 months for this... :mad:

    Is this normal or do I have a bad Incredible?

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     

    Advertisement
  2. jasonb1985

    jasonb1985 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    67
    ok, but how is the actual call quality? many have reported seeing a low number or bars on the screen, but are also reporting that call quality and reception is actually perfectly fine. it seems like the display is just off (not accurate) when showing the signal strength.
     
  3. Mjcanton

    Mjcanton Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    16
    It is thought that the display may be glitchy, although you may have the same signal strength. Try making a few calls and see if it is actually any worse. Personally, I have had no signal errors or anything.
     
  4. ggp

    ggp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    21
    I agree with Jason, going from a Moto Droid to HTC Inc, I was shocked at my "declined signal" but truthfully have not noticed any significant difference so far in call quality.
     
  5. QrafTee

    QrafTee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,123
    Likes Received:
    69
    This is normal. The Incredible is misrepresenting the actual signal strength. All of us are able to make calls, receive texts, and use data with 0 bars--at least a lot of people and I have reported this.
     
  6. zemerick

    zemerick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    130
    As mentioned, the signal indicator varies from phone to phone, operating system to operating system and manufacturer to manufacturer. The Incredible seems to expect extremely good signal to have full bars.

    Go to Menu-> Settings-> About Phone-> Network and look at the signal strength. I believe anything higher than -120 is fine. ( IE closer to zero since it is a negative number.) EX: Inside my apt. I get about 93-100 and it works perfectly here. Outside it jumps up considerably.
     
  7. SamMax

    SamMax Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,767
    Likes Received:
    1,683
    It's hit or miss...I have missed several calls from family who have said they called me.

    But the Data is what bugs me...I honestly don't make a ton of calls but I use a lot of data away from home...but my phone keeps going from 3G to 1x when it displays zero bars like you see in the pics my web pages almost stop loading, I guess I'm going to have to post a video next to prove it. I might as well be on AT&T with Edge again...frusterating.
     
  8. SamMax

    SamMax Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,767
    Likes Received:
    1,683
    lol.. did you look at the pics??
     
  9. Callahan

    Callahan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    14
    I see no signal strength meter on the Motorola phone so the comparison really has no value.
     
  10. ggp

    ggp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    21
    You've got wifi on in all of these pics.

    Maybe exchange your Inc for a Moto Droid? Those are great phones too.
     
  11. SamMax

    SamMax Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,767
    Likes Received:
    1,683
    The Motorola has no issues with signal...so your point isn't valid.
     
  12. Callahan

    Callahan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    14
    You didn't add that particular bit of info originally, I didn't see that post until after I posted. So how does the Moto perform with data?
     
  13. dylo22

    dylo22 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    119
    Right, you're comparing signal bars. As many of the posters have already said, you need to compare the numeric value of the signal. You only showed the value of INC, how do we know if the motorola is doing better or worse without showing its value? For all we know, the motorola actually has worse signal but displaying more bars. So your point isn't conclusive at all.
     
  14. SamMax

    SamMax Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,767
    Likes Received:
    1,683
    I have had the Moto Droid-The Iphone 3Gs-The Touch Pro 2-Blackberry's (most of them) T Mobile My Touch 3-G - HD2-Pre Plus-HTC 8525 (old school HTC) -Palm Treo-Numerous dumb phones-Nokia N97-Droid eris-HTC Hero-Samsung Instinct HD-LG Dare-Samsung Omnia 2...

    My point being I have been around the block with smartphones...They all have quirks, but I guess I just had higher expectations for this phone.
     
  15. dylo22

    dylo22 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    119

    Wow...you went through a lot of phones. Do you buy phones every 2-3 months? And they are all on different networks. Do you test phone for a living?
     
  16. SamMax

    SamMax Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,767
    Likes Received:
    1,683

    ?? do you see any edit taglines up there?
     
  17. SamMax

    SamMax Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,767
    Likes Received:
    1,683

    So if I would have posted signal db's from the Motorola you (I assume) would just say that the posted signal on the DI is not accurate to what the Incredible is really receiving...so why should I even bother...
     
  18. Callahan

    Callahan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    14
    :)What I'm saying is, I based my post solely on the pictures in the OP. I didn't see your post on your real world INC data performance (Post #7} you made 4 min. before my post until after I posted.

    From my experience with this phone, regardless of what the idiot lights at the top of the screen are reporting, my phone has performed very well in every aspect that it should. My 3G light will go from 2bars to 1 bar to no 3G light and I see no difference in the actual speed of data flow. I've learned to quit worrying about what is going on up on the display bar until it actually affects my real world experience.

    Sorry that it's not working out to be the same for you. Good luck.
     
  19. dylo22

    dylo22 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    119
    No I wouldn't. If your motorola flip phone has better signal, then it has better signal. In fact, I wouldn't be surprised if it does. I had an old motorola e815 and it was a beast when it came to signal. I could get signal every where and anywhere with no drop calls or decrease in call quality. Unfortunate, that was all it did well. Really, all I'm saying is, provide some solid prove to your argument. Tons of posters have already noted in this forum that the signal bar is not accurate. Calls are just as clear and if not better than their other phones. So, if you want to compare something, make sure you present all the facts. That's all.
     
  20. zemerick

    zemerick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    130
    I didn't see the first 2 images ( My google chrome is acting funny, trying to figure out why atm as well...keeps pausing every now and then like its choking even after a couple restarts. )

    Anyways, as I had said though: Those numbers should be fine. Not sure why you are losing calls. I can pass 100 and stay in 3G and talk fine.

    As for the "So if I would have posted signal db's from the Motorola you (I assume) would just say that the posted signal on the DI is not accurate to what the Incredible is really receiving...so why should I even bother..."

    If you truly feel this way, why did you post here to begin with? It's just good practice to compare apples to apples.

    The Signal Strength itself is fine on the DI, so something else ( perhaps noise ) is probably the culprit. I don't know enough about checking these things though as I've never really had a problem: So someone more knowledgeable will have to help out there.
     
  21. LancerzEvo

    LancerzEvo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    7
    Why do you change phones so much? Just curious. Are you the type to have to have the best every time? or a Tester?

    btw, my Incredible has Incredible call quality even at ZERO bars and Incredible 3G service.
     

Share This Page

Loading...