CNET data speed test on all 4 carriers... Sprint LOST!


Last Updated:

  1. dan330

    dan330 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    11,598
    Likes Received:
    3,221

    Advertisement
  2. 81_

    81_ Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    39
    i'm ok with the way they tested. i'm suprised sprint hasn't built out a NY 4g network yet. but if they want to come to chicago and test, i'd be happy to drive them around (paid of course). i've pulled 5 megs on my evo
     
  3. zcarman

    zcarman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    46
    I can tell you that at our offices located about 30 miles northeast of Seattle, we had similar results. Sprint isn't the 'fastest' network, and at the speeds that they posted, I highly doubt they were running 4G on this test. I don't worry too much about the upload speeds since they are pretty negligible anyways - most are between 150k to 700k which over a photo means about 30 seconds difference.

    Sprint 3G Coverage - (Evo) 650kbps
    Sprint 3G Coverage - (Moment) 700kbps
    Sprint 4G Coverage - (Evo) 1.7Mbps
    Verizon 3G Coverage - (Omnia) 1.4Mbps
    Verizon 3G Coverage - (Droid) 1.4Mbps
    AT&T 3G Coverage - (Iphone 4) 900kbps

    So, in this area, Verizon is fastest overall, but with a Sprint 4G tower close by in Snohomish, we get ok data rates from that.

    and @81_ Its not surprising at all that Sprint hasn't gone larger market hunting for 4G. Tougher tower restrictions, saturated markets and overall network bog-down would result from going to cities like that. Smart move to build in some 'minor' cities first and then once you get a core set of people using outside the cities, to move in to the cities themselves.
     
  4. Premonition

    Premonition Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    2
    4G is growing from what ive seen on sprints facebook page, i think its around 25 places now and getting up there. I just wished sprint would try to optimize the speeds of 3G cause i know they can do better than that i mean ATT even though they have drop called problems their speeds are pretty nice.
     
  5. hawkijustin

    hawkijustin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    85
    I think 4g is pushing 40 cities now and growing. Sprint is doing a good job at rolling out 4g. How fast alot of people i know forget how slow 3g was to come out. I remember when having internet on your phone no matter how fast was amazing. BTW im hearing alot of talk about sprint buying t-mobile and going WiMax/LTE. Ceo Dan said its not a bad idea and T-Mobile america isnt shy about the idea of a buyout.
     
  6. RiverOfIce

    RiverOfIce Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,715
    Likes Received:
    1,254
    1.) Speed test mean nothing, that is like getting on the the average freeway and saying that your car can only go 45 mph. 2.) Tmobile would buy sprint. 3.) LTE and wimax is the way it has to been in the united states, do to the frequency problems.
     
  7. dan330

    dan330 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    11,598
    Likes Received:
    3,221
    that is what I am saying.. the speed test .. especially with speedtest.net app. The general public will get the wrong message from CNET's speed results. I have seen in other threads here.. that EVO does not correctly test on that application. Giving a very very negative feedback, which is WRONG.
     
    zombdroid likes this.
  8. Rigmaster

    Rigmaster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,584
    Likes Received:
    220
    I'll be in NYC this weekend and will run my own tests. I won't have time to post the screenshots, but I will be able to do a quick post of speeds.

    Again, I cannot believe they overlook the fact that test is one thing. Connecting is another. My iPhan friends will be with me, probably touting this test. And then I'll say, ok let's make some calls. That will silence them. Then I'll say, shoot some messages and get replies. That, too, will silence them because they know ATT's still a problem in NYC.

    Also, anyone notice how Apple/ATT are plugging FaceTime calls now using the tagline "the nation's largest wifi network"? What a cop out, a wireless company blatantly saying depend on our wifi spots to use this feature.

    At the same time, Sprint/HTC need to make the vidchat easier on Evo. None of the solutions right now are 100% reliable and easy.
     
  9. hawkijustin

    hawkijustin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    85
    1.) Going 45mph on a freeway isnt a good thing.
    2.) T-Mobile America could never buy sprint. T-Mobile America and T-Mobile around the world are only linked by the name.
    3.) LTE is going to be the world standard even though WiMax to some people is better suited for the future.
     
  10. jsward12

    jsward12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    26
    Having had ATT service for the last year, ATT's network screams. My GF's new iphone was consistently running 3mbs down and .75mbps up. Compared with Sprint I am averaging around 1.10 down and .75 up. However all the apps I run, run just fine with Sprint so from a reliability perspective Sprint is fine. If you want to show off a fast network then ATT wins in Massachusetts. The big thing with all these tests are customer satisfaction ratings, because arent we the "real" critics? The biggest complaint I hear about Sprint is their customer service (which has been fine the few times I've called them) and with ATT its the usual....dropped calls...unreliable network, lousy call quality.......
     
  11. Yankees368

    Yankees368 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    33
    This test is horribly broken. Not only does the speed test app not work properly on the evo, not only is AT&Ts data network broken on the upload side for data, not only were several different handset models used, not only were different OS's used, but they didnt even turn on 4G!!
     
  12. BenChase7

    BenChase7 VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,233
    Likes Received:
    876
    I average over 1.5meg's/sec on sprint (1 to 2.3 down here in Phx). Thats pretty good for 3G. There may be instances where other carriers are faster... but, what impresses me with Sprint is the reliability. I seem to always have solid connection. in my opinion: Reliability > speed.
     
  13. dan330

    dan330 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    11,598
    Likes Received:
    3,221
    yes.. those numbers are big difference.. but like racing car with only specs.. dont mean shit till the tire hits the road.

    have your GF and you... load a big website at the same time.. remember to turn of your Flash to keep it fair.
    see which gets the job done first!

    Then compare your bills :p
     
  14. asaberan

    asaberan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    33
    4G [in the limited area I receive it] is around 6-7mbps. Granted, they don't have 4G in New York, but this is a better comparison in my area.
     
  15. Yankees368

    Yankees368 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    33
    they do, im limited areas. i have used it myself
     
  16. Gerbacio_PR

    Gerbacio_PR Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    2
    so if you cant test the speed with the app how do you do it??

    im getting like 100-300kb dl and 20-150kb up....wich compared to your numbers is HORRIBLE *i was thinking man this is really slow*

    Evo here
     
  17. dan330

    dan330 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    11,598
    Likes Received:
    3,221
    there are other apps.. to use the test.. check out the market.

    or I have heard that going to the actual website for speedtest.net is more accurate.
     
  18. Gerbacio_PR

    Gerbacio_PR Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    2

    just went to the Cnet one 201.5 kbps

    im above the 56k modem ...... ...... ......

    man this is sad!!!

    just used xtremelabs speedtest

    380.kbits (average)
    477.3 kbits max

    upload 47.7 average
    52.4 max

    wich still means its horrible...
     
  19. Yankees368

    Yankees368 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    33
    It just seems like certain towers are WAY over capacity. Yesterday I was averaging no more than 50 kbps on the tower that covers the downtown area of my city. I went north to another site, and I was getting speeds over 1500 kbps. This problem wont be solved quickly
     
  20. Gerbacio_PR

    Gerbacio_PR Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    2

    plz elaborate!!!! im ion my 30 day trial thing!!
     
  21. coopdro

    coopdro Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, Speedtest.net app doesn't ever really show impressive scores for the Evo even when on WiFi. I can watch downloads go 10x faster than what the scores indicate.
     
  22. Rigmaster

    Rigmaster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,584
    Likes Received:
    220
    Sprint towers overcapacity - not likely. Sprint doesn't have enough subscribers for overcapacity and I think most of it's non-contract subcribers use the Nextel signal, not the Sprint CDMA. Speed that low must have been due to something else.
     
  23. jasonacg

    jasonacg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    37
    The site you use for testing makes a difference. Based on IP, it defaulted to a site in the Kansas City area. Once I had it do a GPS search, I was able to choose a server 30 miles away. My speeds increased by almost five fold.

    Depending on signal strength and location, I've seen a low of 300 down, and a high of 1.6.
     
  24. jmxp69

    jmxp69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    121
    I dunno about that. This pretty much matches my MBP and Core i3 Thinkpad bit for bit.
    [​IMG]
     
  25. dan330

    dan330 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    11,598
    Likes Received:
    3,221

    that is on wifi... right?

    we talking about on sprint network
     

Share This Page

Loading...