Cog v2.3b6 just flashed saturday


Last Updated:

  1. sob33316

    sob33316 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow!! This has the best battery life yet on any stock rom or cog i have tried. It is utterly sipping the battery compared to stock and 2.4.1. It is very stable and quick. It also picks up location on weather/time app ultra fast and accurate.

    Loving this new one!! Thank you Developers!!!!!

    Anyone else have thoughts on this version?

    Just a fan, not developer. This is not a paid testimonial in any way (i know i sound like a homer on this post). LOL

    :D
     

    Advertisement
  2. unscrew

    unscrew Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had issues with Home Switcher not being able to be set Launcherpro as my home. Did anyone else have this problem???
     
  3. NorCal Einstein

    NorCal Einstein Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    42
    Home Switcher is not compatible with Froyo. If you go to Home Switcher's app page:
    "*Froyo(2.2) is not supported due to the API change*"
     
  4. unscrew

    unscrew Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Makes sense.....thanks!! Is there a way to make Lancherpro your launcher on 2.3b6?


    EDIT: Nevermind, figured it out.
     
  5. Tweakrr

    Tweakrr Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yeah it gets better and better with every version. I liked the Touchwiz and Samsung widgets included with the 2.4.1 version, but the battery life was unbelievably bad. I couldn't charge it as fast it was draining...

    The 2.3b6 has been awesome so far though.
     
  6. sob33316

    sob33316 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am using launcherpro no issues. irestored my settings from titanuim. Maybe try again?
     
  7. NorCal Einstein

    NorCal Einstein Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    42
    2.4 and 2.4.1 had known battery issues. Those were also built with some of the Vibrant rom. 2.3 goes back to purely Captivate and no more battery issues!

    He's using a 3rd party app to manage his launcher.
     
    sob33316 likes this.
  8. sob33316

    sob33316 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    ty nor....wasnt sure why
     
  9. unscrew

    unscrew Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Works great now. Thanks guys. Cognition ftw!!!
     
  10. kezell

    kezell Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I agree that this is by far the best. I went a full 12 hours yesterday and still have 74% left.
     
  11. Dimcorner

    Dimcorner Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    2
    Took a dive and rooted and changed rom for first time...
    Wow! can't believe I waited this long to do it!
     
  12. toawkanavngthded

    toawkanavngthded Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    1
    oh man ive been wanting to flash this so i ended up flashing this sat night when i was drunk being worry free lol. and its awesome! i noticed on my first flash i did not hear the voice of the voodoo girl and couldn't locate any voodoo files or anything so i asked around xda and ppl said to reflash so i did and i heard the voodoo voice and everything booted fine! but i was wondering do i have to boot into recovery or dl mode or anything to enable it? or by flashing this rom it is already enabled? any help is greatly appreciated!!
     
  13. NorCal Einstein

    NorCal Einstein Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    42
    Use a file manager (like Astro) to look at the files on your phone at the /sdcard level. If you have a folder named "Voodoo", then Voodoo is enabled. Also the fact you heard the Voodoo voice means that there was a conversion.

    At any time, if you have problems with a rom install, use ODIN to flash back to JF6 and then flash the desired rom.
     
  14. viny2cool

    viny2cool Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    23
    Ok dumbest question ever...I ust rooted my phone yesterday and i read a lot...i am not sure which rom i want. I just need froyo and lag fix. I am very new and i dont know how to use ODIN (or where to find it, is it an app?). one month old phone, rooted using unleash the beast.

    Also Is it really possible to flash back to stock rom when official froyo is annonced?

    Please help which rom i shud flash and where can i find it. I am inclined to Cognition, but not sure which version.
     
  15. CrimsonPride

    CrimsonPride Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,482
    Likes Received:
    200
    if you want froyo and a lag fix i say go with cognition, there is only one version available, 2.3b6, and the odin method doesnt work, read the wiki in the link and it explains how to install
    Download Cognition!

    before you install youll want to backup your apps with titanium backup from the market

    and youll also want to odin back to stock
    [STOCK ROM] Odin3 One-Click Downloader and Drivers CAPTIVATE ONLY - xda-developers
     
  16. Dimcorner

    Dimcorner Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    2
    I tried titanium backup and it just wouldn't see any of my apps after root/sideload. Used another backup program (mybackup) to just keep the apps on side.
     
  17. CrimsonPride

    CrimsonPride Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,482
    Likes Received:
    200
    i usually recommend titanium as it seems to be the most popular but that should be fine. now just need to flash back to stock. once its stock youll need to root again, i just use oclf from the market to root and install rom manager. once you do that transfer the .zip file from the cognition site to your internal sd card, boot into clockwork recovery using rom manager and select "install .zip from sd card" or something like that. choose the cognition file and it will install it for you. first boot will take several minutes
     
  18. viny2cool

    viny2cool Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    23
    another dumb question. If i flash congintion, i heard i will loose user data thats my installled apps right? So is backing upp with titanium will take care of that? or after flashing new rom i will will still have my old apps?

    I am few paid apps which i dont want to loose. lots of data as well.
     
  19. CrimsonPride

    CrimsonPride Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,482
    Likes Received:
    200
    when you flash your phone goes back to stock and you lose about anything, you usually keep your pictures and stuff but to be safe i would back it up aswell. but yes you lose all your apps and data, if youre backed up with titanium it will restore all your apps and data, for example how many levels youve unlocked on a game or whatever.

    and your paid apps are linked to your gmail account. you will be able to restore them anytime even on a different phone as long as you use the same gmail account
     
  20. CrimsonPride

    CrimsonPride Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,482
    Likes Received:
    200
    i might should have mentioned backing up contacts to an external sd card, or any other way you choose i find this the quickest. i dont know if titanium does this or not
     
  21. Tennis

    Tennis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    9
    I'm having a little trouble.

    I'm trying to flash Cog, and it's in my USB Driver folder, but it's in the form of WinRar. Would it still work? The only zip file I see on the phone is update.zip. but not the cognition zip.
     
  22. CrimsonPride

    CrimsonPride Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,482
    Likes Received:
    200
    there should be a file called Cognitionv2.3b6.zip, i dont know how you got a .rar. you could try renaming the file with the .zip and then install.

    but when you downloaded it, it was a .rar on your computer? thats odd
     
  23. Tennis

    Tennis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    9
    Now I removed WinRar, and now the Cognition update shows up as a folder, but it still won't register on Captivate.
     
  24. Tennis

    Tennis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    9
    Renamed it with .zip, and it still won't show... all I see is update.zip.

    I don't have to press a "sync" button, right? It should update automatically?
     
  25. CrimsonPride

    CrimsonPride Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,482
    Likes Received:
    200
    are you using clockwork recovery? youll need that to install it. to get it download rom manager from the market, there is an option at the top of the app and it says flash clockwork recovery, choose your device, then boot into recovery. the stock recovery doesnt have a way to install .zip files
     

Share This Page

Loading...