Cognition I screwed up!!!


Last Updated:

  1. gocats7

    gocats7 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK, I was at cognition 2.1.1 and wanted to go to 2.1.2 but in my wisdom decided to apply a backup first. I went into ROM mananger and picked a original backup I took. It bombed on the data partition while apply and rebooted. Now I get a ton of errors once it boots up and can do virtually nothing because the errors pop up one after another with no stop.

    So I decided to redo with Odin. It will NOT go into download mode. I have tried about 50 times. I am pushing the up and down buttons and holding the power in at the same time. When it goes black the second time I let off the power. It just goes dark.

    PLEASE HELP!!!!
     

    Advertisement
  2. kak

    kak Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Download ADB Tools from Google. Connect your phone to the PC, open a command prompt, direct it to the folder "tools" from the ADB folder, and type "adb reboot download" .
     
  3. pricej636

    pricej636 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Don't touch the power button. Open odin, with the phone off hold the up and down volume buttons and plug in the USB WITHOUT pressing power. It should go into download mode when odin sees it.

    Make sure you have the drivers installed.
     
  4. ronaldramsayii

    ronaldramsayii Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    118
    I wonder why people are having so much trouble with these ROMs lately. I hope mines doesn't mess up when I release it....lol
     
  5. di11igaf

    di11igaf Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    did you place disable-lagfix in the vodoo folder on your internal sd card like it says on the main xda cognition post? if not this is your problem but you should still be able to get into download with post #3 or adb reboot download.
     
  6. gocats7

    gocats7 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got it back, right now I am on basic stock ROM and did JH7 via keis. GPS is not as good as cogniton was.

    My problem now is I cannot get into download mode via the normal means. I can only get there by downloading terminal emulator and doing it that way. None of the normal ways works for me and it use to. I have tried it a 100 times literally. Is there any way to get these modes back?

    I certainly hope JH7 is NOT the GPS fix. It sucks, I can get 8 locks outside with gps status but google maps or nav suck.
     
  7. KonaZXIII

    KonaZXIII Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    15
    Yeah, installing Cognition earned me a trip to Odin land too. ROM swapping is not for me, obviously.

    They still don't have it down to a dummy proof science. There are way too many variables to account for, and, in the end, nobody but yourself to blame. lol
     
  8. ronaldramsayii

    ronaldramsayii Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    118
    There's things that DG did on Cognition that I'm not to familiar with. He did so much to the ROM without deodexing it. Deodexing makes modifying, building, and theming ROMs easier. it also decreases the chances in something going wrong.

    I'm so use to deodexed files, it's what I work from. When the files within an Android build aren't deodexed, that's twice the amount of files to worry about in my opinion.
     
  9. gocats7

    gocats7 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    I will say that the ROM worked great on my phone, GPS was better, it was WAY faster, liked what was built into it, etc.

    Do you know of a more consistent ROM I could use? After seeing the difference in the stock ROM and cognition, its hard not to give something a try!

    I hate to admit it but I have another captivate coming...they actually exchanged it cause it wont get in download mode anymore!
     

Share This Page

Loading...