Cognition installation stuck


Last Updated:

  1. Thassodar

    Thassodar Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    14
    I've followed all of the steps in this wiki page:

    FAQ - Cognition Wiki

    At the very bottom, Method 1.

    Everything is peachy except for when I tell it to install from the sdcard...it just sits there. I've been staring at my phone for about 20 minutes now and the recovery screen from Rom Manager just says:


    --Installing: SDCARD:Cognition2.2BETA8.1_ODIN.zip
    Finding update Package...
    Opening update package...
    Installing update...
    (EMPTY LOADING BAR IS HERE)

    The only way I can get out of it and reboot my phone is by removing the battery. I've let it sit for 30 minutes, the loading bar never budges. That's worry #1.

    Worry #2 is that I only get this far if the Cognition zip file is in my internal storage, not my sd card. Here's what happens: I tell Rom Manager to Install from SD Card and point it to the zip on the SD Card. When it reboots to install the zip I JUST pointed it to it claims it cannot find it and gives me other options. I usually just reboot and become more frustrated.

    Any ideas?
     

    Advertisement
  2. peachpuff

    peachpuff Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    21
    Umm i don't think you're supposed to install odin files from your sdcard, odin is used for flashing the phone when in download mode. Get this version if you want to flash it using rom manager or clockwork recovery.
     
    Thassodar likes this.
  3. Thassodar

    Thassodar Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    14
    I feel kinda stupid now. I got that version because it said (Windows) next to it. The other one fixed the problem. Well this can go in the Cognition Wiki so if someone else has this problem...

    Quick, slightly unintelligent question: Cognition is already rooted, yes? Or do I need to root 2.2 now?
     
  4. CrimsonPride

    CrimsonPride Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,482
    Likes Received:
    200
    cognition is rooted.
     
  5. Thassodar

    Thassodar Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    14
    You know what? I think I'm just going to go back to stock, restore my backup, root, and be happy. You know why?

    All morning I've been having issues with Cognition 2.2Beta 8.1. No thread, save for one that I found in xda, ever said NOT to restore system data with Titanium Backup in 2.2. Therefore until 5 minutes ago when I found the xda thread I kept getting "com.android.phone has stopped unexpectedly [Force Close]" over and over and over. This in effect made my phone pretty damn useless. The most frustrating part about it was I got the same thing, even though my texts were there, when I tried to see my texts. If I cannot get my texts, call logs, and contacts back I would rather not "enjoy" the benefits of Cognition. Those are extremely important to me.

    Lesson learned: Wait for a OFFICIAL froyo release and then fiddle with things. I didn't even notice much of a difference when Cognition WAS working correctly, before I restored my titanium backup. I think I will be just as happy with 2.1 WITH all my contacts and texts as I was before deciding to take the leap into unknown territory.

    I will ask the TROLLS who will respond to this with "you got a unreleased build and you're asking for world? lololol" to die in a fire.
     
  6. Rhiannon224

    Rhiannon224 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    15
    They aren't trolls, they are tired of answering the same 30 questions over and over, no one reads the thread and the same questions are asked and answered endlessly, it does state several times not do istall system data with TIBU, apps only. Cognition is great, XDA has a lot of great information but it all requires a lot of time to read the threads so you can avoid problems, learn from mistakes that others make, learn from success too. Froyo has been awsome. I ran Cognition for about 3 weeks and loved it.

    I took the plunge and I am currently running an I9000 Rom reoriented for the Captivate and it is amazingly smooth and not nearly as buggy as Cognition, keep in mind, it is beta, we are experimenting with Froyo, Samsung hasn't released the source code which makes it difficult to modify. Developers are working hard to make these mods, if you aren't comfortable modding your phone then don't. You need to do a lot of reading and you need to know what you are doing, read carefully, it is overwhelming and confusing but it is possible.

    It is frustrating when things don't work at first, keep trying, this is a great phone and there are more ROMS coming out, it's still a very new device and we are all learning. Have fun and most of all be patient, it takes time to learn to use all of the tools an mods.
     
  7. CrimsonPride

    CrimsonPride Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,482
    Likes Received:
    200
    well since froyo for this phone already is a beta, and cognition 2.8.1 is also a beta it will be very buggy. i had the same problem you did but didnt want to give up froyo so i just installed froyo without cognition and it works very well
     
  8. Jirv311

    Jirv311 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yes definitely, if you backed up System apps/data with TiBu, then you will have issues with System apps/data that get restored. Only back up User apps and you should be good.

    When I re-flash, I personally take that time to start fresh. I don't care about old text messages, notes, etc. I'm only concerned about my contacts for the most part. I sync all my apps with AppBrain and all my contacts with Google so after I flash, I can just install AppBrain and start installing my apps again. It really is the best way to go.

    Oh, and did I mention Cognition is still in Beta? :D
     
  9. sremick

    sremick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    356
    A beta hack of a beta leaked internal development build that is already known to be buggy and have issues... which is then casually recommended to every 12yo and grandma who discovers this forum and asks "Hey just got my Captivate... what should I do first?"

    Yeah, we're not trolling... just trying to bring some sanity to an insane forum.
     
  10. Infinite-t

    Infinite-t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    74
    All things being said, it is always best to understand exactly what you are doing, how to do it propperly, how to fix it if it goes wrong, and the risks involved BEFORE YOU DO IT.

    If you are going to play around with hacks and betas and custom ROMs, understand there are going to be bugs and issues and you may run into trouble.

    If I understand your post correctly, it looks like you are trying to use rom manager to flash the Odin version of the rom.... this tells me you didn't know what you were doing before you did it. Odin ROMs will not flash in CWR. If you are going to use CWR, use the correct ROM for it.

    EDIT: LOL i guess I should read all the posts before I post. Looks like peachpuff already had the propper answer ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...