.com button removed on updateSupport


Last Updated:

  1. pjr710

    pjr710 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am so disappointing that the .com button is gone with this update! why would they take it out?!?! I had the droid 2 and wondered why it didn't have it, i figured it was because the screen real estate was too small.

    Then i got the X and was happy. now with this update its gone again!!!!

    I can't believe no one has mentioned this yet, doesn't this piss anyone else off? That was a huge win in my book.
     

    Advertisement
  2. dawnierae

    dawnierae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,260
    Likes Received:
    875
    Have you checked your keyboard settings? There may be an option to have the domain button on all the time. If not, just download Smart Keyboard Pro - you can get it there (you have to tell it to show the domain key all the time in the settings.)
     
  3. JustinHEMI

    JustinHEMI Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    148
    Nope doesn't piss me off. The better responsiveness and accuracy of the keyboard more than makes up for that minor button in my book. Besides, I just had my girlfriend time me and it took me about 4/10th of a second to type, .com. I can spare the time.
     
  4. hyperlite

    hyperlite Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    5
    convenient, but unnecessary.
     
  5. pjr710

    pjr710 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    i feel like the new keyboard is slower ....

    2.1 overall was faster IMO
     
  6. Trooper

    Trooper Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,715
    Likes Received:
    541
    Agreed.

    I also do not like the lesser feel of the haptic feedback.
     
  7. JustinHEMI

    JustinHEMI Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    148
    Wow really? Maybe you need a reset, 2.2 is a helluvalot faster for me. I love it. I am sorry it isn't like that for you, but again, maybe try a factory reset.
     
  8. Jayme

    Jayme Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    13
    where are the keyboard settings?

    found it never mind
     
  9. JazzMat

    JazzMat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    16
    For texting, I'd trade that dumbass smiley key for a hard carriage return.
     
  10. pjr710

    pjr710 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    i did not think 2.1 was slow at all

    keyboard settings don't fix this either
     
  11. dawnierae

    dawnierae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,260
    Likes Received:
    875
    Go to your app drawer, then find SETTINGS, then LANGUAGE & KEYBOARD (or something like that). Then you find the keyboard you want to change (if you have more than one installed), and touch that. The settings screen should pop up with what you can change. I'll have to look at my husband's X when he gets home to get more specific (I'm on an Incredible, and they're slightly different).
     
  12. markstanco

    markstanco Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    I hope I am missing something, but why in the WORLD would the button to the left of the spacebar, the ".com" button, be replaced with a forward slash while entering a URL?? :mad:
     
  13. SFWB

    SFWB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    27
  14. SlvrScoobie

    SlvrScoobie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    11
    and what about the .. to make a ,! that one is the one that pissed me off! is there a setting for that? I dont want to push the 123 button to get a , thats stupid! i use , WAY more than . in txts
     
  15. Steven58

    Steven58 Reformed PH VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    32,920
    Likes Received:
    25,271
    threads merged... identical topic.
     
  16. jgreen0227

    jgreen0227 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yeah, why get rid of the comma and make us have to go into 123...does not make sense!
     
  17. athradon

    athradon New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Has anyone found a fix for the ., bug, and/or got the DroidX 2.1 keyboard working on 2.2? I haven't found anything on here or xda yet...
     
  18. SlvrScoobie

    SlvrScoobie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    11
    not yet, but do NOT uninstall your 2.2 multitouch keyboard.
    I did, got 2.1 on it, but its buggy and FC's if you try to change the audio/vibrate settings...now I cant get 2.2 back either! :facepalm:
     
  19. khsjsilver

    khsjsilver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    2
    I completely agree!!! It's not the most important thing in the world, but it was very convenient. I don't know why they felt compelled to remove it.
     
  20. pjr710

    pjr710 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    yea, its so frustrating .. i didnt notice this, but someone mentioned something about the , and . button being gone as well

    i just saw this ... that is awful, that button was very useful

    i dont know wtf they were thinking ... the space bar does not have to be that Fin big either!
     
  21. kwaping

    kwaping Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    34
    While I do sympathize with you, one of the beautiful things about Android is the ability to use alternate keyboards. Don't like the stock one anymore? Get a different one. :)
     
  22. pjr710

    pjr710 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    i looked ... do u have any suggestions?
     
  23. SlvrScoobie

    SlvrScoobie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    11
    I do!
    Droid X 2.1 Keyboard
    Oh wait, they took that away...
     
  24. kwaping

    kwaping Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    34
    I don't have any personal experience with this keyboard, but it's received glowing reviews:

    [table][tr][td][​IMG][/td][td]Ultra Keyboard
    by Binary Bulge
    5,000 downloads, 590 ratings (4.3 avg)
    [/td][td]$2.79
    [​IMG][/td][/tr][/table]

    They say it's very customizable.
     
  25. lexluthor

    lexluthor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    4,161
    Likes Received:
    402
    Also like to post this in threads where people are looking for alternate keyboards.

    Someone has webpage to customize the HTC IME keyboard on the fly.

    You have to register, but I've had no issues with doing so.

    http://www.gimpsta.com/themer/index.php

    It's highly customizable via settings once installed, but I don't see a .com option.
     

Share This Page

Loading...