1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

com.phone.android force closeSupport


Last Updated:

  1. pikacz

    pikacz Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    4
    hi guys
    on XXIFF firmware after i turned on 3G i got the error "The process com.android.phone has stopped unexpectedly. Please try again.". when i updated to XXII5 i can turn on 3G, but GPRS is dead, both on 2G and 3G (the same error occurs). internet access point is disabled in Quick Settings, when i turn it on the error occurs. on XXIFF i could turn on GPRS on 2G and it worked, however on that firmware the phone sometimes turned itself off and couldn't be turned on without removing the battery first. anyone got the same problem and a solution?
    cheers
     

    Advertisement
  2. spottyelephant

    spottyelephant Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    17
    I've found that ii5 is very bad at "re-discovering" 3g. For instance if i go into a lift and loose 3g, when i come back out the reception keeps the little "r" above it. This morning i made the mistake of turning my phone on in a lift, now 2hours later it still hasnt rediscovered 3g (and im just not bothered rebooting!)
     
  3. kam187

    kam187 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    46
    Did you try the code (i think its was *#*#4636#*#*) and set WCDMA preffered?
     
  4. spottyelephant

    spottyelephant Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    17
    I'm setup on that anyway. I get a GSM: data failed due to unknown error (or something along those lines). It seems to be quite intermittent, so it doesnt bother me too much (yet!)

    I suspect it something to do with 3ireland renting some of vodafones masts, cuz re-registering on 3 after a network search seems to solve it everytime :)
     
  5. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    did you do a factory reset after you flashed to ii5?
    if you didnt, make sure you do
     
  6. spottyelephant

    spottyelephant Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    17
    Ye i did, it's not really a problem though - takes 2mins to re-register :)
     
  7. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    i was refering to the ops issues of force closing

    he shouldnt get that on ii5 and he had partially that problem on the original firmware. he needs to make sure he factory resets the handheld
     
  8. spottyelephant

    spottyelephant Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    17
    Lol. I've got to learn that it's not all about me! :p
     
  9. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
  10. pikacz

    pikacz Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    4
    good news everyone, i deleted the apn and created a new one with a different name and gprs works. however:
    1. when i'm on 3g, i browse the web, receive a call, answer it - everything's fine
    2. when i'm on 2g, i browse the web, receive a call, answer it - internet connection terminates (always)
    my friend who has G1 has an opposite problem, 2g is fine, 3g is not
     
  11. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    internet should disconnect on 2G
    galaxy is not a class A device and infact there are not many that are class A gprs devices

    class A gprs devices are the only types that can maintain a 2g connection while processing gsm traffic

    normal phones drop to gsm from 2g then back to 2g "attach" when call is finished
     

Share This Page

Loading...