• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Complete Backup?

jgalak

Lurker
Jun 7, 2011
I'm a complete newbie to Android, and am trying to see if there's any way to backup my phone. Unfortunately, I dropped it yesterday and the screen cracked. I'm getting a new one from the insurance people, but want to transfer my data.

What I'm concerned with are: Settings (screen layouts, etc.), apps (both paid and free), app data. AFAIK, contacts, calendars, etc. should just auto-sync with Google.

Ideally I'd like to just do a backup and restore so that the new phone looks and acts just like my old phone...

My understanding is that this can't be done with an un-rooted phone, is that correct?

If I was to root it, is there a procedure that works as of the most current patch that doesn't erase data?

Thanks,
Juliean.

The only way to backup settings and app data is to root. Once rooted you can use an app called Titanium Backup to backup your apps and data and you can make a nandroid backup in recovery. A nandroid is an image file that saves everything on your phone at the time the backup was created.

If you want to root there are numerous guides and thread in the All Things Root section that will walk you throw the process. Be warned though, if you root and make a backup you will need to unroot before sending the phone back into Verizon. If they see the's phones rooted they will void your warranty and likely charge you full price for the replacement device.

Upvote 0
The only way to backup settings and app data is to root. Once rooted you can use an app called Titanium Backup to backup your apps and data and you can make a nandroid backup in recovery. A nandroid is an image file that saves everything on your phone at the time the backup was created.