Complete noob when it comes to custom Roms.

Last Updated:

1. kellysa111

kellysa111 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

So, I am very sorry if there are other threads like this.
    Okay, questions
    1. What, in your opinion, is the best custom ROM for a noob like me that has no experience in rooting phones or customs roms.
    2. I hear that some lockscreens don't give you the mp3 player like in the stock. Do they?
    3. What does overclock mean?
    4. For the custom roms, I just put the file in the sd card and then wipe my phone, but what do I wipe? I see the instructions but I don't know how to do half the things they tell me to do.
    5. If I do anything wrong, will my phone be used for throwing purposes only?

Advertisement
  2. kcmop8ntballa

kcmop8ntballa Member

1. Depends on what you want to do with your phone. Im currently using the froyo beta because the battery life is amazing, but its not entirely stable. If your looking for a stable rom that is fast i recommend Zenexp.

2.That is true not all of them do

3. Overclocking means upping the frequency on the phones cpu to make it run faster. You can also underclock when the screen is off to help save battery

4.Once youve rooted your phone you will be able to access a recovery menu by powering on the phone while holding the home key. In this menu you will find the options to wipe, create nandroid backups, and flash new roms. In most cases you will need to do a wipe/factory reset and wipe the dalvik cache. You will see these options in the menu.

5. Its pretty hard to brick your phone, just be sure to create a nandroid backup before flashing any new roms just in case something doesn't go as planned. You can always access the recovery menu no matter how bad the rom install goes.

kellysa111 likes this.
  3. Joehunni

Joehunni Well-Known Member

Root your phone, decide how badly you want to keep dense ui, then, if you are like me, try out every popular rom lol.

4. kellysa111