Completely lost, and totaly frustrated! Please Help!General


Last Updated:

  1. OUScooby

    OUScooby Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    2
    So my phone is stuck in headset mode. I need to go to verizon and get a replacement, but before that I need to unroot back to stock. In order to do that I need to connect my phone to my computer.
    My phone will not show up on any computer, I've tried 3 different computers, 2 running xp one using windows 7 starter. I've tried multiple usb cords, and multiple usb ports. I've tried reinstalling htc sync, htc driver, android sdk, i can't get my phone to be recognized by a computer!

    I need to unroot and get my phone replaced, yesterday! while it's stuck in headset mode i can't hear or talk to anyone when i make or recieve calls.
     

    Advertisement
  2. jmastron

    jmastron Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    6
    Has anyone had Verizon refuse to exchange a phone with a likely hardware issue (probably the little piece of metal in the jack that connects when the headset plug is inserted), due to the presence of leaked/rooted/etc firmware? I'm sure they wouldn't support the rooted firmware itself, but the phone's hardware should be covered regardless.

    I'd just go ahead and take it in, or perhaps call and have a replacement sent. Worst they can do is send you away and you'd then have to unroot and bring it back.
     
  3. xx_bishop_xx

    xx_bishop_xx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,311
    Likes Received:
    172
    This will sound simple, but do you have USB debugging turned on? Menu > Settings > Applications > Development > USB debugging (check).
     
  4. OUScooby

    OUScooby Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yes usb debugging is on. I've tried with it off and on. And in charge only in HTC sync and in disk drive. Nothing works.
     
  5. xx_bishop_xx

    xx_bishop_xx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,311
    Likes Received:
    172
    That's odd, how did your phone get rooted? On one of the computers you are trying to unroot with? When that happened to me, it was because I didnt have the USB driver package installed on the SDK.
     
  6. OUScooby

    OUScooby Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    2
    It used to connect with my computer just fine, but now all of a sudden it won't. And it won't even show up as a disk drive, even on multiple machines.
    I'll try reinstalling sdk again, and make sure the drivers are there.
     
  7. xx_bishop_xx

    xx_bishop_xx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,311
    Likes Received:
    172
    Charges fine? You can mount the SD card to a PC? I guess what I'm getting at, is can you eliminate the cable/port as the problem?
     
  8. dshinnick

    dshinnick New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm guessing you've tried this, but remove the battery and reinstall it. I had the same problem, stuck in headset mode, but doing this fixed it.
     
  9. OUScooby

    OUScooby Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    2
    Can't mount the SD card to any computer. I've tried multiple cable, multiple ports on multiple machines, so I've already eliminated the cable.

    Try that already, even did a factory reset. No such luck.


    The strange thing is, when I plug in my phone it pops up with the notification to choose charge only, htc sync, or disk drive, but the computer won't see the phone regardless which one i choose.
     
  10. xx_bishop_xx

    xx_bishop_xx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,311
    Likes Received:
    172
    Damn. And you've already done the hard reset. I've been thinking about it, and browsing. If it doesn't work on several computers, and with several different cables, it must be something on the phone I would think. A setting, or something that got wonky on the hardware? I think I'm fresh outta ideas. Sorry buddy. Hopefully you'll get a helpful reply.
     
  11. Podivin

    Podivin VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,679
    Likes Received:
    881
    I'm not sure if this is the answer to what I'm about to recommend or not - it could be read either way.

    Have you tried removing the SD card from your phone and plugging that directly into your computer? I doubt that your computer has a port that accepts micro SD cards, but maybe it will accept a mini SD - for which there is a adapter. I've also seen USB adapters that you can plug a micro SD into (first time I saw one of those was two weeks ago 'clever' I thought). If you haven't already, you might give that a shot.
     
  12. brock350

    brock350 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    Why don't you just put the leak V3 PB00IMG on card and flash it that way?
     
  13. xx_bishop_xx

    xx_bishop_xx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,311
    Likes Received:
    172
    ^^ That could be your answer there. Use the MicroSD to SD adapter and copy the ZIP file onto your card that way. Nice thinkin'.
     
  14. alprazolam

    alprazolam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,722
    Likes Received:
    194
    Another thing. If you haven't already, install HTC Sync instead of trying to install the drivers from the SDK. I had to do that in order to get the computer to recognize my phone.
     
  15. OUScooby

    OUScooby Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    2
    So I was fed up after not having success with anything I tried to get the phone and computer to play nice. I gave up trying to unroot, and took my rooted phone back to verizon. Fortunately they didn't look at what software was on the phone, and gave me a replacement eris because of the hardware issue with the headset mode being stuck on. I tried to complain my way to an upgrade, but didn't want to push it too far since I was giving them back a rooted phone. So for now I'm stuck with an eris, but I'm due for an upgrade in november.
    When I got home I plugged the new phone into my computer and right away it connected first time. So I guess my problem was not with drivers or software or my computer, but with my old phone. Perhaps it was a bug in the rooted OS, perhaps it was a hardware issue with the usb plug.
    Thanks for everyone help, and hopefully having the long list of things to try, all in one thread will help out the next person with this issue. I've already seen quite a few threads about this problem but no of the answers in those threads helped me, hopefully your guys suggestions here can help someone else.
     
  16. VonKannick

    VonKannick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    7
    Maybe it even thought that since you had a headset plugged in, it didn't need to link, since the drive where your music would be stored would not be accessible by the computer and the phone at the same time?
     
  17. OUScooby

    OUScooby Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    2
    Interesting theory. I don't have a head set myself, but does someone who does want to plug it into their phone then plug their phone into their computer and see if it will connect.
     

Share This Page

Loading...