Computer Does Not Recognize CaptivateSupport


Last Updated:

  1. wazawak

    wazawak New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just bought a Captivate today and was all excited to fill it with my music and photos and whatnot, but then when I plugged it in I couldn't see anything in My Computer! Is there some sort of driver or client I'm supposed to install? I looked through the manual but didn't find anything that would help me.
     

    Advertisement
  2. harold50

    harold50 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    mount sd card
     
  3. sremick

    sremick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    356
    To elaborate on what Harold said...

    First you need to make sure that your USB on the Captivate is set to "mass storage mode".

    Then, after connecting the cable, pull down the notification bar, press the line letting you know your USB is connected, then press the [Mount] button.
     
    polo1000rr likes this.
  4. KirkaFordis Rex

    KirkaFordis Rex Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    You do NOT need an SD card, just pull down the grey bar at the top and tap the "USB connected" button. It should pop right up on you PC.
     
  5. scout71

    scout71 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have followed all of these steps, but there is no "USB connected" button on my gray bar. MY pc doesn't recognize it as a mass storage, through kies or any other way.

    Help!
     
  6. sremick

    sremick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    356
    Do you have USB debugging turned on?

    What mode is your phone set to under Menu -> Settings -> Applications -> USB Settings

    Connectivity - CapFAQ
     
  7. rfound

    rfound Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    10
    Well yes, you need to install the drivers.
     
  8. CASUAL

    CASUAL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    5
    Im having the same problem as the person who started this thread.
    my usb is debugged and I managed to "Mount" the phone.

    now what do i do

    I cant find anywhere that my phone is connected to the computer its just charging right now...

    do I need a driver now?
    what is a driver?
    and where do i get it from?
    after i get the driver what will i be able to do?

    i took an awesome HD video and I want to transfer it to my computer will i be able too?
    i tried uploading to youtube and emailing it to myself as an attachment using the captivates web browser but.... both yahoo and youtube say its too big

    p.s Im not rooted and i do not have an SD card


    EDIT: changed to mass storage problem solved for me
     
  9. sremick

    sremick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    356
    Not if the phone is just set to "Mass storage" mode, you don't. The built-in USB mass storage drivers in most operating systems work just fine.
     

Share This Page

Loading...