Confirmed $10 Tmobile web2go unlimited data works with TMO Vibrant Galaxy-S!


Last Updated:

  1. eugenile

    eugenile Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    8

    Advertisement
  2. WxAxGxS

    WxAxGxS Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    3
    So, I'm a noob to data plans... How is this different than other data plans?

    I just signed up for the $25/mo (?) unlimited data plan this morning when I purchased the Vibrant.

    ::edit::
    They convinced me to renew my contract (so $200 phone) which puts my total monthly rate at $39.99 for 600 minutes + $4.99 for 400 text + $24.99 for unlimited data = $69.97/mo as opposed to the $59.99/mo no contract phone+txt+web plan. I get 10% off the contract price through my company. Looks like this saves me $60 over the course of 2 years compared to buying the phone no-contract... If I can save money on the data plan though, I'm game!
     
  3. 2FR35H

    2FR35H Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,224
    Likes Received:
    84
    It will be fine so long as not too many ppl do it.

    But thats only internet right? as in downloads is out of luck right?
     
  4. dzine2fit

    dzine2fit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    1
    You got a great deal there. I just upgraded my cliq and they took off my android plan that I had since g1 which was 34.99 for unlimited web and messages and now I gotta pay 30 for unlit web and 10 for unlimited messaging. But hey they let me upgrade early since I was upset for cliq not getting an update, which is good :)
     
  5. DKYang

    DKYang Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    19
    I think the only way the Vibrant will work on the grandfathered plan is if the phone was bought off contract since they force you to add the android data plan.

    I was told by CS yesterday that the unlimited data was $20. Now after reading your post and checking mytmobile, this kinda sucks. Oh well. Btw, you sure it's 400 texts for $4.99? Because I have 300 texts for 4.99. Anyways, I have 15% discount which pays off the stupid taxes. Yay!
     
  6. lexluthor

    lexluthor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    4,161
    Likes Received:
    402
    Generally, TZones works for a few days on T-Mobile Android phones and then they text you that they are upgrading you to the android data plan.

    I'd be shocked if that wasn't what happens here too.
     
  7. WxAxGxS

    WxAxGxS Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    3

    Yep, I get 400 texts for $4.99.

    (Mind you the attached is from last month's bill... Crappy flip phone with no data plan)
     

    Attached Files:

  8. WxAxGxS

    WxAxGxS Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    3
    They gave me unlimited web for $25/mo in the store but when I go onto my.t-mobile it gives me a popup forcing me to select the $30/mo plan... What are the chances of calling CS and them making me pay $5 more to get that fixed?

    [​IMG]
     
  9. goowakjai

    goowakjai Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yea the whole "android package" is a scam.

    Before the Vibrant I had a nexus one, the plan I used was my "grandfathered" blackberry plan, which is 1000 mins and unlimited text, email, web, everything. I never had any problems and every function on my Nexus one worked perfection, 3g, text, web, and email.

    Oh and I bought my phone off contract so I wasn't forced to change my plan which I never will.
     
  10. eugenile

    eugenile Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    8
    oh yea for those not familiar, you can't even try this if you are just buying the vibrant on a new contract/renewal/add a line.

    you would need to buy the phone out of contract from outside source (ebay)

    then already be with tmobile and using a dummy phone that allows you to add the $10 data plan.

    then when you get your new phone swap the sim card.

    change your APN also im sure.
     
  11. PolishDude

    PolishDude Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    t-zones works for about 6 hrs then it goes away, i had a 5.99 grandfathered tzone plan, worked perfectly until it didnt
     
  12. mwl1119

    mwl1119 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    880
    Likes Received:
    82
  13. ed83

    ed83 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Has anyone managed to get this to work with Samsung vibrant?
    Will root hack and unlocking Samsung Vibrant, makes any different?
    I really love the phone, but it is useless without the data plan, and i dont want to loose my grandfathered plan..
    Another question is, will tmobile allows me to add android data plan to my current grandfathered plan as a service change? I am not in a contract, and i dont want to go back into contract.
    Thanks guys!
     
  14. stupidpig

    stupidpig New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, I would like to know how to make the $10 plan work on the Vibrant too. I just got my Vibrant last night, and my sim already has the $10 web plan. When I insert it to Vibrant last night and changed the APN, it does allow my to surf the web. But then this morning when I try to access the web, it display the page asking me to upgrade. :(
     
  15. veenaa

    veenaa New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    <<Yeah, I would like to know how to make the $10 plan work on the Vibrant too. I just got my Vibrant last night, and my sim already has the $10 web plan. When I insert it to Vibrant last night and changed the APN, it does allow my to surf the web. But then this morning when I try to access the web, it display the page asking me to upgrade. :(>>

    Did anyone figure out how to make this work on Samsung Vibrant with the $10 (Unlimited Web for phones) plan. Please share
     
  16. darksandz93

    darksandz93 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    1
    yea that would seriously be awesome, im currently on the $20 android data plan
     
  17. HadouGhost

    HadouGhost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    879
    Likes Received:
    69
    wtf? how come im paying 30 for my android plan?
     
  18. lexluthor

    lexluthor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    4,161
    Likes Received:
    402
    I doubt any $10 plan will work for an extended period of time.

    The TMo loyalty department (call customer service, and say "cancel" or "contract" will offer the android data plan for $20 to longer term customers if you are lucky (me).
     
  19. robo21

    robo21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    95
    I've not heard of a $30 data plan. I would raise hell over that. When I upgraded my phone in July they quoted me $24.99 for the unlimited data plan. + $4.99 for 300 text messages. My voice plan is 1000 minutes for $39.99 bringing my total monthly bill to $70+taxes. And WTH is an "Android plan?" this is news to me...
     
  20. burn-n-daylight

    burn-n-daylight Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    i am in the process of switching phones.
    i just found out that my behold 2 without a sim card can access the market and download apps. send/receive email i am connect thru my home wifi. And Satellite google sky map is working too. might take my sim out of the vibrant to see if its same story.
     
  21. SamsungVibrant

    SamsungVibrant Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,613
    Likes Received:
    165
    Umm, you don't need a sim, as long as you have wifi, everything will work. But on the road, if you don't download the maps before hand, navigation via google won't work.

    also the title of this thread is misleading, all vibrant imei numbers will not work with the web to go plan.
     
  22. HadouGhost

    HadouGhost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    879
    Likes Received:
    69
    Yeah im going to raise some serious hell.

    39.99 500 anytime
    10 unlimited text
    30 unlimited data android

    wow. thats messed up.
     
  23. robo21

    robo21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    95
    Keep in mind that my 1000 anytime is a grandfathered voice plan going back several years. I'll be interested to know how you do... I think you can get a better deal.
     
  24. HadouGhost

    HadouGhost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    879
    Likes Received:
    69
    Should I call customer care or do it instore in person?
     
  25. robo21

    robo21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    95
    I would call customer care and ask for a supervisor if you don't get immediate satisfaction. Be polite but firm and I think they will take care of you.
     

Share This Page

Loading...