Confused about Qik on Evo...Support


Last Updated:

  1. zamardii12

    zamardii12 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    65
    So I see that there are two Qik apps when I go into the market... One says specifically "for Evo 4G," and the other is just regular Qik. I download regular Qik and I see that there is a button where you can broadcast live (the button says "Video Camera" Record, Share, Go Live), but everytime I use it to broadcast, it just records and wants to share what i've recorded. Am I missing something? How do I broadcast live? Does it not work over 3G?

    Secondly, the Qik version that specifically is for the Evo does not have a button that says "Video Camera" Record, Share, Go Live... So, do I have to keep both of these apps to do this? I mean, if one has a button that says I can broadcast live to my channel (but idk how to do that), and the other app doesn't say that anywhere... do I have to keep them both? Hopefully someone can help me out. Thanks.
     

    Advertisement
  2. BetterMost

    BetterMost Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,066
    Likes Received:
    119
    Am I missing something? My phone came with Qik pre loaded on it why download it again?
     
  3. RoboMonkey

    RoboMonkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,194
    Likes Received:
    114
    The one that came with the phone did not have the video chat option.
     
  4. Howie

    Howie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,412
    Likes Received:
    71
    Qik put out an update. You need the one that says for EVO. The other is for regular Androids that do not have the front camera
     
  5. BetterMost

    BetterMost Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,066
    Likes Received:
    119

    So the one that came on the phone is no good then? can it be deleted or will I be stuck with both of them on there?
     
  6. sdezrilov

    sdezrilov Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    14
    When you install the new one for the EVO, it will replace the old.
     
  7. BetterMost

    BetterMost Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,066
    Likes Received:
    119
    Oh Great Thanks
     
  8. sdezrilov

    sdezrilov Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    14
    Also QIK really needs to be run over wifi, and the person who receives the video call from you must hold down a microphone icon on the screen to talk. Kinda weird but it was neat to try.
     
  9. rswheaton

    rswheaton Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    9
    Ditch Qik... Fring works like a champ!
     
  10. Shawnz

    Shawnz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    38
    I've found this too. And the called party gets the mic control.

    On 3G it is verry choppy, but it is usable.
     
  11. seigex

    seigex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    59
    Just heads up you HAVE to use Chrome or for the browser... IE does NOT work well with Qik's website.... I get good results over 3G, but I usually get 1.2mb/s here in the inland empire so I have enough bandwidth
     
  12. jenks265p

    jenks265p New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    My qik will not work.
     
  13. WUESTSIDER

    WUESTSIDER Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    6
    I use Tango. It's nice, and it allows android and IPhone users to video chat with each other.
     

Share This Page

Loading...