Confused?...Can be rooted? Cannot? T.T'General


Last Updated:

  1. lunarpoc

    lunarpoc Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I'm a big noobie (nub nooob newb etc..) coming down to Droid phones... or phones in general. So, I just got my Droid Eris today, used on CL. I was thinking about rooting the phone since a lot of people mentioned about rooting the phone would open a lot of things to be done to the phone and also I wanted DroidWall (or if anyone knows another app to disable data, I would be grateful.)

    When I got this phone, it came with firmware 2.1 already installed by the previous owner. I read that it would brick your phone if you tried to root your phone with 2.1 already installed onto the phone.

    So, how could I continue to root the phone? Would it be now be impossible? Don't want to brick my phone on the first day...

    Here's some random info that you might need, (idk if it's important..)
    hboot: 1.46 (haha, I ment to type 1.46)
    firmware 2.1
    Baseband: 2.42.00.04.12
    Kernel version:2.6.29-8a03cb9a
    Build number: 5.36.605.1
    Software number: 2.36.605.1

    Also, I don't know if the last owner rooted it or not or did anything to the phone. When I got it, it wanted me to activated it was cleared of anything.

    Thank you!
     

    Advertisement
  2. copestag

    copestag Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,355
    Likes Received:
    247
    turn the phone off......... then restart the phone by holding the Down volume key and the power button......

    the first line that appears on the screen will either say S-off or S-on

    off means youre rooted........ on means you are not

    good news for you is that you have hboot 1.46 so if youre not currently rooted you still can be
     
  3. monkymate

    monkymate Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    He said he has Hboot 1.6. If he meant 1.46 then yes you can root the phone.

    The Hboot is changed to 1.49 when a leak is installed or the official 2.1 update is installed using a computer and USB cable.

    Check that Hboot again and see if it is 1.46. If it is then yes you can root the phone.
     
  4. lunarpoc

    lunarpoc Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmmm, haha, I changed it. It was suppose to say hboot 1.46.

    Well, here's what it says when I do the vol down and power button startup:
    PB00100 XC SHIP S-ON
    HBOOT-1.46.000 (PB0010000)
    MICROP-0111
    TOUCH PANEL-MELFAS_45_17
    RADIO-2.42.00.04.12
    OCT 5 2009, 19:21:56

    So... what do I do now? Confused, jailbreaking was easy compared to this... Haha..
     
  5. T2noob

    T2noob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    98
    Root your phone
    How To Root Your HTC Eris
     
    lunarpoc likes this.
  6. lunarpoc

    lunarpoc Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    But on the instructions it says,
    "This walkthrough will take you through rooting a stock 1.5 Eris. After following the walkthrough, you will have a rooted 2.1 Eris.
    Unfortunately, this will NOT help people who upgraded to the Leaked 2.1 ROM. For now, there is no way to fix your issue."

    I'm currently on 2.1?
     
  7. MrDangerous

    MrDangerous Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    57
    Technically which OS you have is not what determines if you can root or not, just the older docs seem to indicate it that way. The Hboot version is what can determine that. Phones that go from 1.5 to 2.1 using the Verizon update method can still be rooted because the Hboot firmware is the same.

    If you had 1.5 and flashed to one of the leaked 2.1 versions that didn't include root, you are locked out.

    I went from stock 1.5 > Amon RA + Rooted 2.1 > Rooted 2.1v3 (sometimes referred to v4 by people on XDA). (Also note v3 is not rooted unless it says it is. Flashing to the unofficial v3 is bad because you'll lock yourself out of root, Flashing to the rooted v3 is ok)

    If you have a 1.5 that got an over the air update to 2.1 Official from VZW you're probably OK.
     
    lunarpoc likes this.
  8. erisuser1

    erisuser1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,644
    Likes Received:
    759
    What T2noob detected - after you had posted BOTH the OS information and the Bootloader information - is that you have a phone with the latest OS from HTC, but a 1.46 S-ON bootloader.

    That strongly suggests that your phone has only seen OTA updates.

    It also means that your phone is rootable.

    You don't have a phone which was upgrade with a Leak ROM. You have a phone which is rootable.

    Not only that, but for a phone which is in the state your is in, what people refer to as an "OTA-2.1 phone", the instructions for rooting are IDENTICAL to a 1.5 phone.

    Go root your phone :)
     
    lunarpoc likes this.
  9. lunarpoc

    lunarpoc Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    What if I don't know if I have the rooted version of the firmware update or the leaked one? I bought this phone off a previous owner. I'm the second owner of this phone since I bought it used.

    ----Ignore top part----

    So, I'll assume that my phone is updated by OTA then... So, I could use the method T2Noob advised me to do right?
     
  10. erisuser1

    erisuser1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,644
    Likes Received:
    759
    Yes.
     
  11. boblobla

    boblobla Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    ...you can't be rooted. I just tried and everything went well (as if it was going to work with no errors) except in the end I wasn't rooted...still shows S-ON. At least I didn't brick the phone :) Any way around this as of yet since it's been some time now. Somebody should have figured how to root yourself after officially upgrading to 2.1..Anybody?
     
  12. boblobla

    boblobla Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    test
     
  13. erisuser1

    erisuser1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,644
    Likes Received:
    759
    You can root any stock Eris on 2.1 with the "One Click" method, and any stock Eris on either 1.5 or 2.1 using the "Dummies" method. Both are Sticky posts over in the All Things Root sub-forum - the same place this thread should be.
     
  14. Familyguy1

    Familyguy1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    21
  15. Demache

    Demache Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,011
    Likes Received:
    341
    It will still show S-ON with the newer root methods. Your rooted, but your still using the stock secured bootloader. You'll need to flash the engineering bootloader to get it to show S-OFF.
     
  16. Hiroshika

    Hiroshika Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    24
    Confusions like this happen when people dig up old threads.
     
  17. boblobla

    boblobla Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    If im rooted...Does this mean I can Or Can't Use apps which require root cuz right now I cannot. Thx
     
  18. erisuser1

    erisuser1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,644
    Likes Received:
    759
    boblobla,

    Your sentence - as it stands - is quite confusing to me (I can't tell if you are saying you think you are rooted or not) .

    It starts out with a hypothetical: "If I'm rooted...", which to me implies you are not currently rooted - but then at the end you mention "cuz right now I cannot". Either you are saying that "I think I am rooted, but root apps are not working", or asking "will they work if I am rooted?"


    So:

    Root-aware apps generally require two things to be installed on the phone: "su" and "SuperUser.apk". The first one is a "native program", and the second is an App; they work together as a "team".

    They both need to be installed, and "su" can only be installed on a phone in which root privilege has been gained.

    The two newest "rooting" methods - the "One Click" or the "Dummies" method, do not install these programs - they leave it up to the user to do that, either by (wiping and then) flashing a new ROM that has those tools already built in, or by (no wipe) over-flashing the "engtools3.zip" file that will install these two tools on top of your stock HTC rom.

    (The download link for "engtools3.zip" is given in jcase's post on XDA - see near "Step 5")


    eu1
     

Share This Page

Loading...