• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help Connect phone running Android 4.4.2 to Google without immediately syncing apps?

calanan

Lurker
Jan 5, 2015
I have a Samsung Galaxy Avant running KitKat 4.4.2 with T-Mobile that has been randomly restarting. Per T-Mobile support I've tried wiping the cache partition multiple times, tried a master reset then immediately connected the phone to my Google account, syncing apps, mail, etc. but the phone still randomly restarts...usually on its own in the middle of the night, sometimes when I open certain apps like Google+ Photos. Yesterday I did a master reset but have not connected it to my Google or Samsung accounts, or installed new apps or updated any built-in apps. So far the phone has not restarted and I and the technician think maybe there's a conflict or corruption with one of my apps or even somewhere within my Google account.

When it comes time to link my phone to my Google account, is there any way to do so without allowing the phone so sync any mail, apps, photos, contacts, etc. so that I can try reinstalling things one at a time to find the culprit? The technician I spoke with thinks there's no way to stop Google from syncing apps once I pass on my credentials but I wonder if someone here knows more than he does.

I'm not sure if it's an option on the Avant (it is on most of the devices I've owned) but head to Settings -> Backup & Reset, there should be options to "Backup My Data" & "Automatic Restore". If you uncheck those, you should be good to go.

Thanks but my Google account is not linked to the phone yet. When I check Settings -> Backup and reset, the option to back up is unchecked and though the Automatic Restore option is greyed out (but appears to be checked by default).