Connect RAZR to computerGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. TXSooner

    TXSooner Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    12
    I had an Incredible that was rooted for most of its life so forgive me if this question's answer is "root".

    Why when I plug my phone into my computer do I not get any prompts to use the phone as a disk drive? I wanted to transfer ringtones/wallpapers/mClock skins over. Instead I am having to use Dropbox.
     

    Advertisement
  2. jroc

    jroc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,614
    Likes Received:
    358
    When you plug it into the PC, is there a symbol in the notification area showing its connected?
     
  3. Wheresatom

    Wheresatom Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    6
    Does the notification show up allowing you to choose to mount the drive? It should come into your notification area when you plug in. Then when you select mount your SD card and internal memory in the case of the RAZR will become available where your drives are found on your computer.
     
  4. TXSooner

    TXSooner Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    12
    Nope, I get nothing in the notification area. It does charge the battery though.
     
  5. boscoj

    boscoj Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I noticed that when I hook the phone directly to the pc with the factory cable I get a usb storage notification but if I put the Mot external battery pack in line with the cable I don't get any notification. Same as my original droid.

    Must be some different cable configuration.
     
  6. geemacd

    geemacd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    9
    Check the cable you are using, that happened to me with my old phone then I realised that cable seemed to be able to charge only
     
  7. TXSooner

    TXSooner Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    12
    I'm using the same cable I used for my incredible. I'll try a different one tomorrow.
     
  8. OlManRivah

    OlManRivah Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    4
    You don't have to Mount the Razr like the OG Droid. Just plug it in using the charger cable that comes with it. Unplug the cable from the charger base and you have a USB connector.
     
  9. infamousjax

    infamousjax Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    21
    It's possible that your computer does not recognize your phone... try installing the Moto drivers.
     
    jroc likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...