Considering Rooting my phone


Last Updated:

  1. Rcecarbldr

    Rcecarbldr Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    9
    but I'm kinda scared to do it. I'm not very tech savy. I know just enough to get by but I don't want to turn my Hero into a brick either. In it's current state of 2.1 it's ungodly slow. What benefits would I gain by Rooting it? And before someone says scroll around, I really don't have time to hunt thru this site and look for topics about this. Just wanting some quick real world input. Thanks.
     

    Advertisement
  2. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,863
    Likes Received:
    779

    Just being able to put great roms on it and getting rid of sprints garbage makes it worth it. It is very hard to brick it, if you read up and don't flash a gsm rom or radio. The guides to rooting are very thorough, and there are a bunch of people that can help, if you get jacked up.

    There is much to be gained from rooting, you can fix almost every problem that the hero has. (notice I said almost)
     
  3. 00h2itr

    00h2itr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    15
    Benefits? Lets see... flexability (Through various ROMS) customization with various themes, wireless tethering, over clocking.

    The list can go on and on. These days it's very easy and the instructions are very detailed. It's rather hard to brick your phone unless you use a GSM ROM.
     
  4. chinkster

    chinkster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    11
    just do it.
     
  5. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278
  6. Rcecarbldr

    Rcecarbldr Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    9
    Just so I'm clear on this. I need to Flash my phone back to the old 1.5 program before I can root my phone? Do I do this in the same manner I upgraded it to 2.1? Download it and follow the same instructions? Thanks.
     
  7. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,863
    Likes Received:
    779
    Nope, you can't flash back. You have to flash to the .5 version of the 2.1 update, if you have the .6 version. (the .6 is the fix they released like two weeks after the 2.1 update came out)
     
  8. Rcecarbldr

    Rcecarbldr Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    9
    OK, I think I mistook the .5 for 1.5. But you do it just like when I originally updated it?
     
  9. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,863
    Likes Received:
    779
    I am not super familiar with the ruu programs, but I believe it is the same procedure.
     
  10. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,863
    Likes Received:
    779
  11. Rcecarbldr

    Rcecarbldr Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    9
  12. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,863
    Likes Received:
    779
  13. Rcecarbldr

    Rcecarbldr Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    9
    Yup. I did all that. Guy I built it for sold it and it's now in Canada somewhere.
     
  14. Rcecarbldr

    Rcecarbldr Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    9
    Well I'm taking to Root leap right now. Wish me luck LOL.
     
  15. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,863
    Likes Received:
    779
    If you can figure out how to weld like that, you will do fine rooting;)
     
  16. 00h2itr

    00h2itr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    15
    Agree'd, if you can build those cars, rooting is not going to be an issue.
     
  17. Rcecarbldr

    Rcecarbldr Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    9
    OK, it's rooted and appears to be back to normal. Now what? :)
     
  18. 00h2itr

    00h2itr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    15
    MAKE A NANDROID BACKUP!!! If you haven't already.

    Next up, find a ROM you like, and load away. Personally I'm on ZenXP Overclocked ROM.
     
  19. Rcecarbldr

    Rcecarbldr Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    9
    I did the Nandroid Backup that was mentioned during the procedure. Is this something you should do often and if so how? And how do you load ROM's?
     
  20. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,863
    Likes Received:
    779

    You should make a backup when you like your setup and don't want it to get wrecked if you have an issue when you flash something new. (just to be safe)

    And that brings me to how to load a rom. After you do your nandroid backup, and you have downloaded the rom of your choice, you don't unzip it, you just drag and drop the zip file to the root of the sd card. Meaning the uppermost folder of the card. Like on my computer, when I mount it, it is the F: removable drive. After that, reboot to recovery, wipe data and dalvik, and then choose flash zip from sd. When it is done, choose reboot, then it will take like 10 minutes or more, and will reboot. You will have to put your google acct. info back in and set it all back up....and that is it.
     
  21. Rcecarbldr

    Rcecarbldr Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    9
    Well, rooting it didn't speed it up much but then again I haven't installed any different ROMs either. Still running stock 2.1. Maybe tonight or tomorrow I'm gonna try a ROM. What do you guys think is best? I do travel a bit so I do use Sprint Nav. How is the wireless tether different from lets say Easy Tether that I use to use?
     
  22. 00h2itr

    00h2itr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    15
    ROM's surely help speed things up as they address things that slow down the phone.

    IMO, I absolutely love ZEN's newest ROM,ZEN EXP. You can find that here:

    [ROM] ZenEXP-0.9.6.2 New Expresso MT3G Slide Landscape Rosie. Overclocked. Updated. - xda-developers

    You do not have to use SetCPU or OC widget, as OC is built into the ROM.
     

Share This Page

Loading...