Constantly on low space


Last Updated:

  1. IllusionsPlay

    IllusionsPlay New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello there!

    I'm using OpenDesire rom and I'm constantly having low space problems.

    Sure, I've rooted my Desire and I'm using one-click clear cache few times a day and I've moved almost all of my applications on SD card...so what could possibly eat so much space?

    I'm having 5-12 MB of free space on internal memory.

    I've been googleing solution for days, but everyone keeps saying to move root, move apps to SD and clear cache what I've done and still no solution.
     

    Advertisement
  2. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,532
    Likes Received:
    249
    Are you using A2SD? A special partition on your SD card that'll sort that problem. A member here called danfrance has a FAQ explaining all about it. Alternatively Google Apps2SD, A2SD etc.
     
  3. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,532
    Likes Received:
    249
  4. IllusionsPlay

    IllusionsPlay New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think A2SD is by default on OpenDesire

    It says

    • Legacy A2SD with Cache2SD
     
  5. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,532
    Likes Received:
    249

    Do you have a ext3 partition on you SD card? A2SD will not work without it.
     
  6. IllusionsPlay

    IllusionsPlay New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, I don't see any ext3 partition. Should I create it manually?
     
  7. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,532
    Likes Received:
    249
    Download ROM manager if you don't already have it, partition SD will be in the menu section, 512mb and 0 swap. Partitioning will wipe all data from your SD so back up first, your desktop will do. There is a better account of how to do this in various faq's evreywhere.

    Otherwise. Yep you'll need to create it manually. If your running Linux you can use your disk manager, otherwise you'll need to download Gparted which I think will run in Windows.
     
  8. IllusionsPlay

    IllusionsPlay New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am Linux user and I have gparted.
    I also have Clockwork Rom Manager

    Is there any detailed step by step guide?
     
  9. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,532
    Likes Received:
    249
    If your running Linux use your disk utility to format 2 partitions, 1 should be about 500Mb and ext3, the other can take up the rest of the card and is a regular data space FAT32 or whatever. That's it!

    I would try ROM manager first though, its quite noob proof. ext3 512, o swap. That's it!
     
  10. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Just ensure all sd data is backed up on your pc first
     
  11. Hadron

    Hadron VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    17,802
    Likes Received:
    10,724
    An advantage of using GParted is that you don't have to erase the card - you can shrink your existing partition and add an ext3 in the freed space.

    I'd back up the data first anyway, in case anything goes wrong, but I've generally found GParted to be very reliable.

    Update: I was trying this myself at the time, and hit some problems - see below. So I'd advise following other posts and ignoring this one.
     
  12. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,532
    Likes Received:
    249
    Try it but I think you will need to wipe the card. When using a thrid party partitioner such as Gparted, the existing partition is resized and thus the ext3 partition is created second. The ext3 partition MUST be done first, otherwise it is not recognised by the phone. I may be wrong, and I stand corrected if anyone knows different.
     
  13. Hadron

    Hadron VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    17,802
    Likes Received:
    10,724
    Partition ordering is something you can adjust. But actually I was trying it, and while the repartitioning looks fine my phone seems to have some problems reading it. So yeah, not quite as straightforward as I've generally found!

    So looks like I need to do some fiddling now to get things working again. Ho hum, teach me to try to save myself a bit of effort....

    Update: phone was sufficiently confused about the state of the card that I formatted it using recovery and did everything from scratch. That's why you always do a backup before playing with this stuff!! ;)
     
  14. Hadron

    Hadron VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    17,802
    Likes Received:
    10,724
  15. spile

    spile Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    44
    Lots of people are getting this problem, so it seems we are destined to do a hard reset every month or so.
     
  16. bartlet

    bartlet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    31
    I understood that the ext3 was supposed to be after the fat32 e.g.
    [-------FAT32-------][-EXT3-]

    That's what I've done, but not flashed yet. Can anyone confirm please?
     
  17. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Yep pretty sure that's how it has to be. Mine was and think that's the only way
     
  18. bartlet

    bartlet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    31
    Good good :)
    I did it with GParted on Ubuntu without destroying the data on the FAT32. Hopefully it'll go OK when I build up the courage to flash - LeeDroid is the plan.
     
  19. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,532
    Likes Received:
    249

    I stand corrected!
     

Share This Page

Loading...