Contact List Questions...


Last Updated:

  1. harryzwd

    harryzwd Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    7
    yes, my first post on the forum is about something as "dumb" as the contact list....
    i'm just wondering why all of my contacts seem to have 4 linked contacts, all of them being themselves. and when i "unlink" or delete them, they then become entries in my contact list...all the same thing. what the hell is going on?

    and i've seen this asked in another thread - but is there no option or command for wiping your contacts? how can we delete multiple contacts at once?

    thanks in advance for any help...hopefully i'll be able to contribute and not just pester the android masses for help. ;)
     

    Advertisement
  2. baji

    baji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    5
    I ran into this issue when I had just set the phone up. It was grabbing contacts from facebook, and yahoo, and gmail. You can go into the settings and set it up so that your networked contacts like that do not sync up.
     
  3. harryzwd

    harryzwd Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    7
    thanks for the quick reply. i see what you're talking about...and my contacts that are networked i do want to be "linked" - it just seems like every contact has 4 linked contacts...all of which are exactly the same as the first one. very weird.
     
  4. ChaoticKinesis

    ChaoticKinesis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    6
    I don't know what caused it for you but when I synced my Blackberry contacts to Gmail, in order to transfer them to my Captivate, many of them were created as duplicate entries. The easiest way to delete is through Gmail on a PC.
     
  5. harryzwd

    harryzwd Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    7
    i'm not sure what caused it either...but i was able to get Samsung Kies working on my home pc and was able to edit my contacts that way....
     
  6. baddress

    baddress Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    20
    Be careful with this linking business, because if you have contacts in both your Exchange and your SIM, and they become linked, if you remove your Exchange account it will delete the contacts from the SIM too! (lost alot of important info this way last Tuesday)
     
  7. bellaevo

    bellaevo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok I have a question similar to this i think.

    I like how my phone links FB friends with their contact card in my phone. But there is one person who I dont want it linked to his FB but it wont let me un-do that.

    I.E---Say on his FB his name is Jason Marks in Handcent all his sms messages say Jason Marks and have his FB picture. but I call him by a nick name. So when I text him im so used to typing in his nick name but it doesnt come up. Ive tried to create a seperate contact with a sperate picture but it always defaults to Jason Marks. Ive deleted him out of my contacts completely. I put his number back in under his nick name. It suggested I link to his FB but I didnt. So I went into Handcent hit New Message and when it says To: I typed in his nick name but nothing came up. Sure enough I type in Jason Marks and its right there even when I deleted it out of my phone and did not link the number to his facebook.

    It is really starting to annoy me!!
     
  8. ilusv

    ilusv Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    1
    impressive, I tried two different PCs (XP and vista -64) without being able to get Kies to work. which mode to you connect to kies with? if I use USB mass storage it tells me to switch. When i switch to Samsung kies the MTP (not sure about acroynm) starts flashing on my phone and I can never make the connection.
     
  9. harryzwd

    harryzwd Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    7
    i was able to get it working on my win 7 (64) machine at home while i had zero luck with my xp machine at work.

    prior to installing kies i installed the usb drivers for each windows installation - i never changed the usb connection setting in the phone (i believe the default is "samsung kies") and i was able to connect the phone to both computers and read the phone similar to mass storage mode.

    i got the latest version of kies off of samsungapps.com (used europe, united kingdom to get the download)

    i installed the file with the phone disconnected (make sure you have the latest .net 4 updates installed on your computer before you install, i read that somewhere and made sure i had them) then i simply connected the phone to my computer, never touching the usb connection setting in the phone...and it just worked. :confused:
     
    ilusv likes this.
  10. ilusv

    ilusv Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    1
    I will instal the latest .net 4 updates and give it another try..after uninstalling the driver and keys ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...