contact photo low res in phoneSupport


Last Updated:

  1. dochobbs

    dochobbs New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I select a contact photo from a high resolution picture on the sd card. When that contact makes a call to me or I call them, the contact photo comes up on the phone app and is very low quality and almost pixelated. Not sure what I'm doing wrong, but I couldn't find a spot to change the resolution or quality. TIA
     

    Advertisement
  2. Randino

    Randino Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    110
    +1 I have the same problem....it's like it screws the picture up like a digital zoom would or something
     
  3. CruiserC50

    CruiserC50 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    2
    I have noticed the same thing. Anybody have a fix for this?
     
  4. necosino

    necosino Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,962
    Likes Received:
    338
    Try clearing out the cache. Most likely it's using a thumbnail of the photo and not the photo itself.
     
  5. rossmathis

    rossmathis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    608
    Likes Received:
    79
    How do you clear cache for the contacts?
     
  6. sunthas

    sunthas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    13
    Interesting.

    When you take a photo while in "edit contacts" mode after clicking on the camera icon, it takes a lower resolution image. But that shouldn't have any relation with the pixelation issue.

    Anyone else figure out why this is happening?
     
  7. jwm2

    jwm2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,109
    Likes Received:
    270
    It happens with all htc senseui enabled phones. The reason for it is to not create any lag on the dialer. It was a problem with the eris due to its slower processor and less ram. It just scales the pic down (makes a thumbnail) and then reenlarges it, which is why it looks so bad. But it does function as it should. I wouldn't spend any more time worrying about it or trying to fix it. Its something you only see for a split second before putting the phone up to your ear.
     
  8. Mr Marcus

    Mr Marcus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    15
    The only time Ive had that happen is if I adjust (zoom) the little crop square that pops up when you set the pic. Did you make any adjustments to the pic as you were assigning it? Aside from moving the square areound to frame the image, try it without any other adjustments...... may work.
     
  9. dochobbs

    dochobbs New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did resize the square on all of the pics. I'll try that. Interesting that the droid default pic isn't a thumbnail! :D
    Thanks for the replies.


    edit:

    not resizing the square seems to totally fix the problem
     

Share This Page

Loading...