1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

Contact QCcode Problem : Barcode Scanner


Last Updated:

  1. nicodb

    nicodb New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good day, I need some help please.

    I have the following setup:
    HTC Desire, android 2.1
    Contacts synced from Outlook to Google online, and then to phone.
    No other contact Manager.
    Barcode scanner works fine, no problems

    My Problem is as follows:

    When I try to generate a contact QC code via Barcode Scanner`s share > contacts funtion, everything goes well, until I get to the list of contacts.

    In stead of contact names, I am presented with a long list of 3 digit numbers only. When I pick a number, it represents a contact, but there is no correlation between numbers and contacts.. ie, the numbers are not chronological, and as far as i can deduce the names are not alphabetically. There is no way of my knowing which number is which contact.

    I have roughly 300 contacts, and the numbers goes from 001 to 300 , but all in random order.

    Please please help me. Why is this happening, and how can I work around this?

    Is there another way of creating a qc code of a contact?

    You help is appreciated.
    Many thanks
    nico
     

    Advertisement
  2. nicodb

    nicodb New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry, my mistake... QR Code
     
  3. Bushflyr

    Bushflyr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    34
    Bumping this up for an answer. I'm having the exact same issue on my DInc.

    It (BCS) also seems to crash the People app for some reason.
     
  4. Bushflyr

    Bushflyr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    34
    OK, partially sorted. The BCS is, for some reason accessing my random mess of Gmail contacts rather than my phone contacts. I guess I need to somehow export all my phone contacts to Gmail and clean them up.

    Off for more searching..... But if anybody has a link... :D
     
  5. UltraNEO*

    UltraNEO* New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a slightly different issue with the application...

    Once the QRcode is generated, does anyone know how i get the thing to clipboard? or perhaps save the image to be used elsewhere??
     
  6. Bushflyr

    Bushflyr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    34
    OK, getting closer. I exported my phone address book to .vcf DL'd, that to my mac, exported my Gmail contacts list to .vcf and DL'd that. Merged both lists in address book the converted the resulting file to .csv using Online vCard Converter the reimported the lot into Gmail. Now I just have to clean up the Gmail list ang get it resynched to the DInc. We'll see how that goes.
     
  7. Sixxx

    Sixxx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    18
    My problem is that even after doing everything you just said, it still shows me numbers. I've completely swiped my phone book clean, and turned off all syncing, and it STILL shows me 300 contacts, by the way i only have 63 contacts, so...
     

Share This Page

Loading...