Contact search and Group organization ??Tips


Last Updated:

  1. blueyce28

    blueyce28 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    3
    Some help please.

    1) Is there a way to load the keyboard when in contacts to type in the person's name to do quick searches instead of clicking the letter on the side or scrolling all the time?

    example: on my moto droid, when in contacts, i can slide out the keyboard and start typing in the contacts name and it will quickly take me there.

    2) When groups are created in Google contacts through gmail, it will appear on the phone, but it will not list the contacts in that group on the phone as it does on gmail's contacts. When trying to do it on the phone itself, when click on add contact for the group, it only lists contacts that are not assigned. How to I configure this?

    Thanks for your help.
     

    Advertisement
  2. da2zoe

    da2zoe Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    2
    I don't have an answer to your first question. As for question 2, I found that even though you have contacts set up in groups in gmail, that doesn't transfer over to the phone. I have played around with this a lot (linking, phone vs. google, FB, etc) and the grouping thing listed on the phone is for contacts in the "phone" only.

    This is pretty stupid. I love a lot of things about this phone but there are several issues with contacts that are just plain weird. If I am wrong or if anyone has any other thoughts, share away.
     
    load97 and blueyce28 like this.
  3. ksvik

    ksvik New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    The aContacts app will see the google groups. Don't know why this is but downloaded it from the market and sure enough. Had to rename my "work" group to "System Group: Work" to get that group to sync, but otherwise went smoothly.

    aContacts seems pretty stable. Also does away with all the duplicate numbers that get created by syncing both your verizon contacts and google contacts.
     
    blueyce28 likes this.
  4. Moonfire

    Moonfire Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    409
    Likes Received:
    74
    While viewing your contacts list, if you hit the Search softkey (the one next to the Back button) it lets you just search among the contacts.
     
    blueyce28 likes this.
  5. blueyce28

    blueyce28 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    3
    Oh snap, that was easy. don't know why i didn't figure to press the search soft key. Guess i was use to it doing bing search and what not. Thanks for that. makes life easier.
     
  6. skipster

    skipster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    6
    For some reason, Google had to make the search function a 4-step procedure:
    Open Contacts
    Hit 'Search'
    Tap in search box to bring up keyboard
    tap your search

    WTF, Google?!

    You may not know, though, that Sammy gave us the gift of dial search in the phone dialer... you can use the phone keypad to search your contacts for someone to dial by using the phone keys, and it puts up choices based on that. I happened to find that by mistake.
     

Share This Page

Loading...