Contact Sync help


Last Updated:

  1. lllleooo

    lllleooo Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    How can I make contacts that I've added to the phone sync with google? It doesn't do it automatically like on my g1.
     

    Advertisement
  2. soundoftheground

    soundoftheground Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    3
    settings - accounts and sync. all of your sync options are there for your registered google account
     
  3. lllleooo

    lllleooo Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have it set to sync contacts, and it does sync contacts that I add to google, but if I add a contact to the phone then that doesn't sync to google, it just stays on the phone.
     
  4. soundoftheground

    soundoftheground Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    3
    not that i think you don't know what you're doing - but you are setting the contact as a google account contact right? i just added a google contact on my phone and within 30 seconds it was listed in my google contacts online.
     
  5. lllleooo

    lllleooo Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    I do that now, but when I got the phone I had a bunch of contacts on my SIM card, which I then transferred to the phone, and neither of those sync with my google.
     
  6. soundoftheground

    soundoftheground Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    3
    remember there are 3 places to have contact information and only those that are google contacts will sync. phone contacts and sim contacts will not sync.
     
  7. lllleooo

    lllleooo Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    I know that, but is there a way to get the phone contacts to become google contacts?
     
  8. m4r10

    m4r10 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    2
    I'm in the same boat as him. I know what to do from now on but I still have those contacts from the sim card that I can't back up on google.
     
  9. soundoftheground

    soundoftheground Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    3
    sorry guys, i'm not sure if it's possible without manually entering each one to google. there may be an import feature but i can't find it.
     
  10. Big Dog KMc

    Big Dog KMc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    7
    I have All my contacts on my sim card and copied all of them to the phone thinking that all would sync to my google account. now i read that will not work.

    But.

    When I went to erase them off of the phones memory, Much to my dismay I found that I could not delete all of them at the same time.
    One at a time.
    All 267 of them.

    But.

    There was something else to make this jobe go much much much slower.

    HERE IS THE QUESTION PART.........

    in side each and every one on those contacts on my phones memory there was "5 Linked contacts". All 5 of the links in that particular number were the same number that they were in.

    When I Tapped on the line with the small icons of the linked contacts a new window opened to show the same number 5 times. Then when I tapped on the Minus signs to remove them they ALL MOVED Into the main list where I need to erase those 5 as well as the original.

    WHY????

    As I later learned out for my self, If I deleted the main number it would ask me if I wanted to delete the links as well (Separate pop up window)

    48 minutes later I was done.

    WHY????
     
  11. jsteele

    jsteele New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm having the same problem. My last phone was a blackberry pearl which decided to take a swim. So all my contacts were lost except for the ones that were saved on the sim card. I used to have three #'s and email for one contact. When I swiched to the Vibrant each number was listed as a seperate contact. I was told that the easiest way was to organize them on my gmail. However i cannot get my contacts that are saved on my phone or sim card to sync to my gmail. From what I'm reading above, it sounds like I will manually have to enter everything into gmail to get it to sync to the phone. Is there not a way to sync from the phone to gmail?
     
  12. snapper.fishes

    snapper.fishes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,279
    Likes Received:
    263
    For deleting all contacts, you could have downloaded apps from the market to help you with that. You can also go to settings -> Applications -> application list -> filter -> all applications -> contacts -> Empty cache.

    I had to enter them manually as well. Major pain in the ***. There might be a better way though. If you connect your phone to kies, you should be able to export the contacts to your computer. See if you can find a format that gmail will read.
     
  13. Tarzanman

    Tarzanman Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    There is a way to do it, but not with the vibrant. If you pull your contacts off of the SIM using a G1 (copy contacts from SIM), then the G1 should sync all of those to your google contacts.

    At least, that is how it first worked when i switched from a normal phone to a G1
     
  14. Zylograth

    Zylograth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    2
    I went to Contacts, tap Edit and choose More, from there you can import/export your contacts. I exported my phone contacts into a .vcf file and then imported that into gmail contacts on the website and it worked perfectly.
     

Share This Page

Loading...