"Contact type" drop down menu only lists "Phone"General


Last Updated:

  1. rustybg

    rustybg New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Got a HTC Droid Eris the other day and absolutely love it!
    However, when adding a new contact on the phone, the drop bown menu box only lists "Phone" and does NOT give a "Google" or "Exchange" option as is indicated on p. 72 of the pdf "User Guide for Droid HTC Eris" by Verizon.

    I have examined 3 others Droid Eris phones of friends/family, and on each of their phones when adding a new contact the drop down menu box does list the "Google" option in addition to the "Phone" option.

    The problem with not being able to select "Google" as the contact type is that the contact information does not "sync" with the Gmail "Contacts List" online.

    Any help or suggestions would be appreciated.
     

    Advertisement
  2. krazykrivda

    krazykrivda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    16
    Add a few contacts. Let me know if they sync (force sync before you check to be safe). Maybe since you dont' have multiple options it doesn't give you a menu. this means either it is defaultly saving to your gmail account, OR possibly something is wrong with the account setup on the phone.

    Let me know.
     
  3. rustybg

    rustybg New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've added some contacts on the phone (in previous days and again today), and they do not show up in gmail contacts list. The "auto-sync" action is in place, and I also have force synced. The "last sync" time stamps are current.

    I've wondered if there was something about the account set-up that might have triggered this, but not sure where/how to assess. I do know that the Verizon agent who set things up for us did transfer over contacts from previous phone, and all of those came over as "Google" contacts (thus, showing up in the Gmail contacts list). Also, contacts that I add to Gmail contacts sync to the phone almost immediately.

    Any suggestions? Thanks for your help.
     
  4. krazykrivda

    krazykrivda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    16
    This is interesting. On my droid, there is no way just to add a contact to the phone itself, it has to be registered to some account. Maybe this is different for your device.

    Open menu/accounts and sync/ check that all the desired options are checked (within your gmail account too)

    If so, it appears for some reason you have a one way sync set up where your phone can only recieve info, but not send.
     
  5. letthewookiewin

    letthewookiewin New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    This issue has been driving me crazy; I found a few relevant threads about doing a hard reset, importing/exporting contacts, etc. which kind of all boiled down to getting back to the initial gmail account setup.

    I think I finally stumbled on a less invasive way to do it - close down all your google apps, then go to Menu -> Settings -> Applications -> Manage Applications -> Google Apps -> Clear data -> Ok at the scary looking warning dialog. Fire up the GoogleTalk app which should then take you back through the original Gmail setup wizard (if it doesn't, you may have had a running Google application, close it and reclear the data). After the initial resync, the Contact Type: Google was immediately available on my phone without a reboot. Of course, any phone only contacts were still phone only but there's an app on the market to fix that.

    I haven't experienced any weird behavior with any of the Google applications since doing this but I haven't tested exhaustively.

    Just thought I'd share a possible solution to keep others from nearly going insane. ;)
     
  6. antnyp85

    antnyp85 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    2
    I was having the same issue... It randomly started happening like a week ago. But hey what the last person posted worked!! Thanks!!! :)
     
  7. Caddyman

    Caddyman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3,216
    Likes Received:
    638
    Doing this is the fix that is suggested (over a hard reset) when you want to change the main acct linked up to your phone.

    Sounds like something wonky happened when you first set your acct up and it just needed a mulligan to correct itself. Glad you got it working.
     
  8. caligottago

    caligottago New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi...do you know what the name of the app is that will fix the "contact type" from phone to google for the exisiting contacts? Thanks in advance
     

Share This Page

Loading...