Contacts - Can you display the nickname?


Last Updated:

  1. cmills93

    cmills93 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there a way to display a nickname in the contact list, say "mom." In order to get my Exchange, FB and Google contacts to merge, I had to use everyone's full name. It annoys me to see the complete name on my text threads, etc.
     

    Advertisement
  2. fa11instardust

    fa11instardust Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I want the same thing! I wish I could find something on how to do it. If you do.. Let me know!
     
  3. spk2003

    spk2003 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would LOVE this too, anyone know if its possible?
     
  4. dougwilson2000

    dougwilson2000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    17
    Just put their nickname in your contact list and add their full name in the note section. What ever you have listed as a contact name is what shows up on calls reguardless of their fb name or other sync. Contact name takes priority.
     
  5. spk2003

    spk2003 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you saying that by doing this facebook sync and otheres will find the name in the notes section? I think that is what we are all trying to acomplish
     
  6. dougwilson2000

    dougwilson2000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    17
    No but it will find them by email or phone number.I changed the contact name after I sync ed them all in the first time.
     
  7. dougwilson2000

    dougwilson2000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    17
    There might be better ways but this definately works for me and my fb contacts still get up dated with their comments. Just go back and change the contact name on the phone,the rest is already linked in.
     
  8. dougwilson2000

    dougwilson2000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    17
    Well has anybody at least tried this on one contact?
     
  9. fa11instardust

    fa11instardust Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    That Just sounds too complicated! lol.. I just keep thinking I got this phone because its fully customizable. But, I can't customize anything that I want to change! =P Still love it though.
     
  10. SinfulDragon

    SinfulDragon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    36
    He just told you how to do it, no one said you can customize everything and it will be so easy a 3 year old could do it. However, his steps aren't really the complicated.
    I'm thinking if it can be done from your contacts list in google that would save a lot of time as well.

    Looks like all the spots are there for it on google, give it a shot with one or two and see if it syncs up the way you're wanting it to
     
  11. fa11instardust

    fa11instardust Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I didn't mean level of difficulty. This just seems like such a no brainer to have an option to display nicknames.
     
  12. SinfulDragon

    SinfulDragon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    36
    ooooooooooooooooooooooooohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh



    yeah I agree
     
  13. fa11instardust

    fa11instardust Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    lol.. in my head complication isnt necessarily hard! lol. I LOVE this phone. But something like that just seems sooo simple and its.. not there. Everything else that I want is the same kind of thing. I just don't get it.
     
  14. dougwilson2000

    dougwilson2000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    17
    The ONLY place I do any changes is in the PHONE contact list. I chaage the name there. On the motorola Droid in the edit contact list, at the bottom there is a option for more. Expand the more and there is an option for notes,nicknames etc. I just put the real name there. Simple. My reversing the name/nickname I get the nickname to show up on calls.
    I gave a nickname to my ex,that I can not type here, so when she texts me my phone speaks that name. My kid laughs and of course told her. She of course got pissed (as intended) and almost stopped texting because she knows what the Droid is saying.lol I love my Droid!!! It got her to stop BS texting without attorney fees. Did I say how much I love my Droid?
     
  15. fa11instardust

    fa11instardust Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    what app makes it say the name outloud?
     
  16. dougwilson2000

    dougwilson2000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    17
    I use DriveSafe.ly. It has options to speak contact name and/or speak message. Free and great for driving. Auto answer, speak caller and speak message plus an auto custom reply if you wish like "I am driving,can not respond right now".
     
  17. tjbugs1

    tjbugs1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    11
    ^^ Does the app auto kick in when I put it in my car dock? (sorry for the hijack)
     
  18. dougwilson2000

    dougwilson2000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    17
    No it does not auto turn on or off. You have to click the ICON. I even use it at night so I do not have to get up and put on my glasses , minus the auto reply. Great app..
     
  19. StrifeJester

    StrifeJester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    35
    I know this is a long time ago and probably not checked but there is an option to merge contacts manually in the app. open a contact so you are at the edit screen then press menu and join. You can then join them without having to edit and as long as the primary phone contact just has Mom or whatever as mentioned that will be displayed. Searching will still work as well.
     
  20. Burillo

    Burillo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    i am thinking of actually changing that behaviour. you know, as the Android OS is opensource - in theory i could just modify the source of contact/phone apps to display Nickname instead of contact name - or at least add an option to do so. that shouldn't be hard as it requires only changing a couple of lines to display nickname and a few more for a tick in the options. i will get back to this with my findings.
     
  21. lodestone

    lodestone New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    My fingers are firmly crossed!
     
  22. Turdbogls

    Turdbogls Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    817
    Likes Received:
    150
    Create a new contact with the nickname of the person as the first name and no other data in the contact. Longpress on the nickname, edit contact, hit menu, merge contact...find the actual person and select it, then save your changes. It will now have only the nickname show up but everything will be linked. Kinda a run around way of doing it, but it works.
     
  23. fatboislimm

    fatboislimm New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay I found a way, its stupid but it makes sense at the same time

    MANUALLY LINK PHONEBOOK CONTACTS WITH FACEBOOK

    1) In the Facebook app under Sync Comtacts select Sync ALL Contacts
    2) In your phonebook longpress the contact you want to link to FB and hit Edit Contact
    3) Press Menu and hit Join (or Merge, whatever your phone says)
    4) All of your FB contacts now appear so select the profile you want to link to the contact
    5) While still on the Edit Contact screen scroll down to the Facebook section tap the profile pic and tap Use This Photo
    6) Hit Save and do this for all the other contacts you want to link to FB
    7) When your all done go back to the Facebook app and under Sync Contacts select Sync Existing Contacts Only and your done! All of the other profiles will be removed from your phonebook while keeping your linked contacts under whatever name you want
     
  24. webwolf

    webwolf New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    fatboislimm wins a prize, Just figured this one out myself, I've always linked the contacts by hitting the facebook app contact icon and pressing the calling card icon, then hitting edit, merge selecting the phone book contact and done. which uses the facebook contact name in place of the phonebook contact name!

    Arse about way of doing it, but in order for your facebook data to be downloaded and available to the phonebook linking process you do need to sync all facebook contacts, alternatively use the facebook linking procedure, then seperate all ya' contacts, and use the phonebook linking procedure, that way ya' only have the facebook contact data downloaded for the contacts you actually have in your phonebook allready!

    So I'm figuring since ya' can actually choose either way, it's more by design than a bug after all :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...