contacts ringtones


Last Updated:

  1. fasc-spo

    fasc-spo New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    This has probably been asked before but I could not find it anywhere. I've just purchased a Samsung Fascinate (love it so far) but want to "personalize" ringtones for some of my contacts. I go into contacts & it shows ringtones but I can't figure out how to modify them. What's the secret? Thanks much!
     

    Advertisement
  2. PJnc284

    PJnc284 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    14
    For some reason the contact has to be stored locally on the phone (not Gmail) to use custom ringtones. If the contact is on the phone, long press on the contact, choose Edit and touch Ringtone near the bottom and that should let you change it from the default ringer.

    If the contact is in gmail, it won't show the option. If you only have a couple, you can manually enter them and choose Phone instead of Google when creating the contact. If you have a lot, you can hit the menu button inside of contacts, choose more, import/export, export to sd card. Then you can choose import from sd card and set it to save it to the phone. Inside of Contacts, you'll also see Display Options when you hit the menu button. You'll want to uncheck the google contacts and turn off sync for google contacts in the sync settings.
     
    fasc-spo likes this.
  3. fasc-spo

    fasc-spo New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ah-ha. I do sync with Google contacts. I haven't figured out how to sync with Outlook (not corporate) contacts. I use Outlook to "pull" my email from gmail. I exported my Outlook contacts & imported them into gmail because I have not figured out how to sync with Outlook yet.
     
  4. aseiter

    aseiter New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    So we are saying that I can't have contact ringtones AND sync with google contacts? One or the other? wtf?
     
  5. nunyazz

    nunyazz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    90
  6. sandygram

    sandygram New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not necessarily. How many contacts do you want to have personalized ringtones? I have a handful, so create a new contact for those people only (make sure that you create a "phone" contact). The phone will automatically link this contact with your google contact, so you won't have 2 of the same contact. Once you've added it as a "phone" contact, the option for assigning a ringtone becomes available.

    It's a pain in the butt, I know, but it seems to work. For the life of me, I can't figure out why on a GOOGLE based phone, the default everywhere is not GOOGLE!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...