Contacts saved in "People" app NOT popping up for Mail...but FACEBOOK is??Support

Last Updated:

1. scudder

scudder Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

Hello...check THIS one out. I'm new to Android with my EVO purchase but I'm getting the hang of this. I'll TRY to be as clear as possible...

I came from a Palm Centro soooooo no way to easily sync Palm contacts with the EVO. I converted an export to iCal, coverted the iCal to another file type, uploaded to gmail and ALL MY CONTACTS ARE THERE...NO PROBLEMS!!! I see the contacts in my gmail account online; I see my contact in my "People" app on the EVO.

I have a list of contacts that are ONLY email addresses...there are 28 of them. Online in gmail I see them; on the phone I see them when I scroll through the People app. I even put them in a group named "Emails" and see that group with NO PROBLEM online and on the phone.

For EASE OF FINDING THE CONTACTS, I designated all these email-only contacts with the letter "X" in front of the name. For example, to send an email to myself, the contact is "XScott"...to send an email to my father it is "XDad"...that way all I have to do to address an email is type "X" and up should pop allllllllll 28 of my "X-Email" names from gmail and the People app.

That SHOULD happen...now here's the problem...

FOR SOME REASON, when I launch the Mail app and start typing "X..." in the "To" field NOT ALL OF MY EMAIL CONTACTS SHOW UP!! Specifically, ONLY EIGHT out of TWENTY-EIGHT appear as options to click for addressing my email!!

In other words, if I type "XS" to in "XScott" in my contacts in the "To" field there is NO CONTACT!! If I type "XD" for "XDad"...NO DAD!!

ODDLY, if I start typing my email address, e.g., "scott@aol.com" then my email address DOES pop up...but is labeled "HISTORY" rather than for the group "Email" that I have designated in gmail/People app.