Contacts Synchronization: How does it really work?


Last Updated:

  1. cyberkamote

    cyberkamote Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    2
    Okay, so I am confused. I have 3 accounts in my HTC Desire.

    GMAIL (or should I call this Google?) - the automatically saved emails that GMAIL keeps when you write to a person

    Phone - which are the phone numbers saved in my phone

    and

    Facebook -

    So when I go to people, I see that there's like 4 categories when I press MENU and VIEW: SIM(0) ; Google(296); Phone(731) and Facebook (460)

    Ok, first weird thing is that even if I choose to VIEW only my Phone contacts, on searches and when I write an SMS, the suggestions include their GMAIL and Facebook entries too- which is quite confusing because the reason I hid them is I only want to send an SMS (yeah I know theres an option "Only contacts with phone number"). Is this really the case?

    Next weird thing is that: Since some of my Phone contacts are actually my GMAIL and FB contacts as well, I linked them from the phone app (I clicked LINK in the MENU and chose their respective contacts). Okay, so in the list, I see the name of my Phone contact and at the same time if I click on their names I see email and FB info as well (the FB profile pic shows! neat!). - BUT.... (see below)

    However, I found out that when I try to click on EDIT it still let me choose which contact I will edit, in this case : Google or Phone - I'm like, huh? I thought I linked you 2 already, so it follows that if I add an info, like, another number then it (the Phone app) should assign it to the name as a whole, right? Apparently, the LINK command in Phone app only makes you "see" one name in the list- but in other processes still treats your contacts seprately. Okay good- at least I know now- BUT....

    When I try to DELETE the contact in Phone it also deletes the Google contact but Facebook contact remains- WOW, now Im confused! :(

    Does it really treat them separately or as one- basically the problem is that users need to know how the Phone app actually does it's process of syncing..Or at least wouldnt it make sense, for the system to ASK you which account you would want to delete the same way it asked which one you wanted to edit (as my experience did above)? Something like "Do you wanna delete: Google, Phone or ALL?" (I know Facebook is a bit complicated so it's ok if Facebook contact editing and deletion is not totally synced for now)

    Hope anybody could give out a basic explanation on this.

    Thanks as always to very helpful community!
     

    Advertisement
  2. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    The sync is between gmail and Google contacts on the phone only. Linking only shows as 1 and only in the people.app.

    You have to remove your phone contacts and upload them to gmail if you want to sync.
     
  3. cyberkamote

    cyberkamote Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi danfrance, thanks, i guess the link feature is indeed just in the People app.

    Anyway, as a workaround for now here is what I did:

    Categorized all my phone contacts as just Phone (and not uploaded to Google/GMAIL). for backups I just simply export to SD card for now.

    My Gmail contacts (all emails no phone numbers) is also synced to my phone but I chose to hide them for now in the people app.

    Then I just utilized the linking feature to link phone contacts and FB profiles- just for the added profile pic eye candy and some info (like bdays and FB infos)

    This should work for me now.
     

Share This Page

Loading...