Content Management System

1. jimmcdonagh

jimmcdonagh Member

Hi, I'm new to this forum so I apologise if I'm posting this in the wrong place.

I've recently started programming my first android app in eclipse using java and xml and I'm relatively new to both languages.

My App will contain mostly static information for students in university which I plan to simply save as text in the xml itself but the clients wish to have a few pages on the app with content that they will be able to change regularly without having to look at or understand any code.

Basically what I'm looking to do is have a basic content management system that can only be accessed by the client and they can use it easily enough to change the content of those specific pages.

Any help would be great on this thanks!

Advertisement
    :
  2. jonbonazza

jonbonazza Well-Known Member

So will all of these clients' changes need to be reflected on all clients? Also, what kind of help do you want? You haven't really asked a question.
  3. jimmcdonagh

jimmcdonagh Member

Sorry, I didn't really make that clear. what I need help with is how I would actually go about implementing a system where the clients could edit the text in (for example) a textview on one of the xml layouts.

for the sake of simplicity, its safe to assume there would only be one client editing it.
  4. jonbonazza

Just make a text box that the user can type in and then use something like the Xml class and the XmlSerializer and XmlPullparser classes to update the xml file accordingly.
  5. jimmcdonagh

jimmcdonagh Member

Sorry I misunderstood your question. By client, i meant the person who has requested the app be developed. So I need to know how to set up a system where one person can manage the content and when they change the content, anyone who has downloaded the app will be now see the new content in place of the old.
    Thanks for your help so far. apologies for the confusion.
  6. jonbonazza