Cool trick to change brightness anywhere


Last Updated:

  1. ranova

    ranova Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    74
    If you swipe your finger on the notification bar (with the panel still up), you can change your brightness, anywhere that bar is present! Useful when auto brightness isnt on and you need a quick brightness change

    I'm not sure if this is a touchwiz feature or an android feature.

    Sorry if this is known or already posted before.
     

    Advertisement
    RedRyno, SlowRain, tman42 and 2 others like this.
  2. simulator

    simulator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    4
    Great find!
     
  3. chuzzy

    chuzzy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    agreed awesome find
     
  4. Croak

    Croak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    29
    TouchWiz feature, pretty much exclusive to the Galaxy S series for now.
     
  5. rajendra82

    rajendra82 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    20
    Yeah TouchWiz in general is forgettable, but the notification bar on Galaxy S series deserves much kudos. Now if they could only make it customizable in the next release so that I can turn off the clock or whatever, I'd be ever more pleased,. My live wallpaper already shows a clock, and I don't need another in the notification bar.
     
  6. Benclayton

    Benclayton Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    6
    Is there a way to turn this off? I have the captivate and every time I pull the panel down to peek at messages, it resets the brightness to 10% and I have it at the lowest.
     
  7. digger44

    digger44 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't see this ... I don't know why. Are you guys sure it's not a LauncherPro setting or something? Or you need something set in settings?
     
  8. Benclayton

    Benclayton Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    6
    My brother is using a MyTouch 3G Slide with LP and does not have this feature, so it's either TouchWiz or Captivate specific.
     
  9. DT

    DT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    787
    Likes Received:
    145
    I just stumbled on this today! Pretty nice implementation and a really handy place to put it.
     
  10. Croak

    Croak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    29
    There's no indicator or slider visible, if that's what you're talking about. It just gets brighter or dimmer as you slide left and right. Have to turn off AUTO in the Settings/Sound and Display/Brightness menu first though.
     
    digger44 likes this.
  11. tman42

    tman42 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Works in Launcher Pro and TouchWiz unless you have set on Auto. Great find.
     
  12. Aerimus

    Aerimus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    7
    If you have autobrightness switched on this does NOT work. You have to turn auto brightness off so that you can manually manage it. Took me a bit too to figure out what people were talking about.:)
     
  13. SlowRain

    SlowRain Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    5
    Thank you very much for that little tip.
     
  14. CM_Audelio

    CM_Audelio Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    2
    i don't know how, but i do remember of hearing this about a week after i got my Captivate, (got it 2 days after release) so i figured that others would've know by now, :/
    oh well! good job on mentioning it though :D
     
  15. nomoiphone

    nomoiphone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    3
    Doesn't work for me.
     

Share This Page

Loading...