Copilot Live and Safety Cameras


Last Updated:

  1. MF1

    MF1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi All

    I have my new Hero and it works a dream, I have it organising my whole life.

    One thing i would like to add is a decent SatNav. At present Copilot seems to be the only real contender that I am aware of. One of the main features I am interested in is the safety cameras alerts. Can anyone let me know how they find this please.

    Does it include mobile safety camera locations?

    Does it update every week or two or do I need to manually download new safety camera information?

    Can I have this turned on even when its not navigating so it will just warn me if one is coming up?

    Is there an extra subscription for this feature and/or traffic alerts?

    Lastly how good is the actual satnav with copilot, are there any other serious contenders in this market I am am unaware of?

    Orange maps looks pretty good but not avialable for the Hero!!!

    Cheers everyone, look forward to your reviews :)

    Mike
     

    Advertisement
  2. Rob

    Rob I'm tellin' mommy on you! Administrator

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,700
    Likes Received:
    2,947
    Telenav is pretty good from what I've used with it on the Sprint HTC Hero but I'm not sure if its offered globally. We'll be posting a review of CoPilot Live 8 in the next week or so... keep your eyes peeled on Phandroid for that.

    I'm not sure either have the "safety cam" warnings you're talking about although I can see how that would be awesome. Telenav doesn't, CoPilot I'll have to check.
     
  3. michael_84

    michael_84 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    3
    I've got Co-Pilot, works nice, I did have Garmin Mobile on my Nokia N95 but I prefer CoPilot, the interface is slick, the map view is awesome as for speed cameras the option is dim on mine so I can't select it, not sure if that's because I need to load the information onto the phone or it's not supported at the moment, there is a subscription service that offers live traffic info so not sure if that will provide speed camera info at some point.

    My only major complaint at the moment with it is that it doesn't use the android keyboard, instead using one created by CoPilot which isn't so hot.
     
  4. ianr

    ianr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    18
    Copilot is completely isolated from android, you can't even navigate to addresses in your contacts book, or cut and paste anything (e.g. map co-ordinates) from any other app. It's also rather buggy, I have to reset it most journeys using taskiller. Controls are unresponsive and the journey time estimates are way off, which is annoying because if it's estimating journey times so poorly it's also picking non-optimal routes, as I can see when I plan routes between two places I know. Fiddling with routing parameters can correct it to a degree, but it ain't no tomtom which was quite amazingly good at getting routing times right.

    Never used the tax camera option, and I'm surprised that we're three posts into this thread and some chump hasn't trotted out "you could always try not speeding" which is the usual 1st or 2nd reply...
     
  5. MF1

    MF1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    1
    Humm, not the best review. Ism anyone using Copilot 8?

    And yes, was waiting for the no speeding comments :)
     
  6. Baggieboy

    Baggieboy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm using CoPilot 8. I'm mostly happy with it but do also suffer from either application hangs or loss of GPS signal from time to time.

    ALK have been less then responsive to reported bugs, version 8.0.0.444 of CP8 broke the ability to import custom POIs, so if you are using 3rd-party speed camera data, you can't import them at the moment. I (and many others) have reported the problem but have yet to get a resolution to the problem.

    I have no idea if this affects the CP8 native speed camera data however (as I removed it when I originally loaded another database).
     
  7. daveybaby

    daveybaby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    919
    Likes Received:
    105
    I've got copilot live and i've found it to be well worth the money.

    However, before you splash out on a copy i would suggest you read this.
    Drool. Drooooooooooool.

    Glad i dont work for copilot tbh.
     
  8. Baggieboy

    Baggieboy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I wonder if you can download/cache maps ahead of the journey? If it downloads maps as it needs them, it might not be such a good prospect. I tried Google Maps in "live" mode on a journey and it could never quite keep up with me.
     
  9. daveybaby

    daveybaby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    919
    Likes Received:
    105
    I believe it will cache the route when you plan it. However this means that if you want to detour en-route or even start an entirely new journey while out of reception you might be out of luck, depending on how much surrounding stuff gets cached, or whether you can specify areas to cache ahead of time.

    And you never know with google whether theyre going to continue long term development to fix problems like these (if they occur) or whether it's just something theyre doing on a whim and theyre going to release a couple of versions then just abandon it in a semi-functional state.

    But hey, it's only a beta so you dont really have anything to complain about, right? ;)
     
  10. MF1

    MF1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    1
    Humm, interesting with the new proposed Google Maps and turn by turn navigation. But seems a way off yet and you will have to have an Android 2 Phone.

    Still not sure whether to plump for CP8 or hang around and see if Orange release Orange Maps for the Hero and try that first.

    Would be great it Tom Tom released an app for Android as they have with the iPhone. I have had a dig around on the net and cannot find anything though to suggest this imminent.
     
  11. skimminstones

    skimminstones Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    52
    I was using copilot but found if it was being used for more than 30 mins or so it would keep losing gps signal and often never find it again unless i exited copilot and restarted it. Not good when youre going down the motorway.

    Ive since installed mcguider which i had on my n96 before. Its more expensive at
     
  12. ianr

    ianr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    18
    Google Maps turn-by-turn looks interesting but I suspect it will need an internet connection full-time even for recalculating a route if you go off-route, strange considering it's released first in the U.S. where I'm told mobile internet coverage is very bad outside of cities. When driving in the UK it's often quite easy to get an internet connection, if not a continuous one so it could be quite good but I wouldn't use it exclusively.

    This is actually one of the reasons why I'd still recommend copilot despite my reservations about it; it's cheap, it doesn't take up much space, and it doesn't need an internet connection so despite its laggy map scrolling, difficulty of picking locations on the map, inability to keep a GPS fix (strange that other apps are fine!) when travelling at speed, isolation from android, crashes, unresponsive controls and so on, it's still a cheap, useable GPS that will tide you over until you can get google maps TBT working and find out if it's any good. Or tomtom release their app, which I still rate as the best sat nav software around for road use.

    Also copilot is loads better than Nokia's woeful Nokia Maps, that was truly dreadful, although I've not seen version 3 of it.
     
  13. daveybaby

    daveybaby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    919
    Likes Received:
    105
     
  14. NiceCupOfTea

    NiceCupOfTea Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  15. Skellum

    Skellum Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Try clicking on updates in the menu system - I have had safety camera warnings for the last month? - if that doesn't work try checking with 'Market' to see if you have an App update for CoPilot 8..
     
  16. skimminstones

    skimminstones Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    52


    Yea could be that. The phone doesnt seem to get anywhere near as hot as it did when i used co-pilot.
     
  17. NiceCupOfTea

    NiceCupOfTea Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    It just says it's up to date. I redownloaded it yesterday after a hard reset so it's up to date. Safety cameras is greyed out. Anything I need to do or download manually to enable it?

    Edit: Think I have sussed it. In true ALK half baked fashion it seems you have to download the update manually and copy it into the CoPilot/save/ directory on the storage card. The instructions are for WinMo but seem to work for Android as well.

    http://www.alk.eu.com/copilot/cameras.asp

    Shame they can't include it as part of the updates...
     
  18. colsnr

    colsnr Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    1
    That worked a treat, great stuff. I now have the speed camera setting activated in CoPilot8............Thanks.
    I think you should open a new thread 'activating copilot speed camera option' as i found your advise by chance, and I believe a few people who have copilot8 dont realise they have the free option to get this up and running.

    Also does anyone know how to get extra voices, when I go to the CoPilot store in CoPilot Central and click on voices it says 'No product of that type on record'

    Thanks Again.
     
  19. brittas

    brittas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    2
    I manually downloaded the Safety camera updates as detailed above and it still doesn't warn me when I pass a camera.

    Any ideas?
     
  20. Baggieboy

    Baggieboy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you on version 8.0.0.444? That version has a bug with integrating 3rd party camera data
     
  21. brittas

    brittas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    2
    No I'm on Ver 8 but not 0.444

    I'll have to upgrade.
     
  22. dazzie611

    dazzie611 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hiya , I used to use TomTom on my old N95 - but then discovered Wisepilot which is a subscription based sat nav but your account/software is online so if you change your phone the sat nav goes along with you to the next phone - plus it works a treat on the HTC Hero and includes Speed Cam by default .
    https://www.wisepilot.com/nav11/site/portal.jsp
     
  23. dazzie611

    dazzie611 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hiya , I used to use TomTom on my old N95 - but then discovered Wisepilot which is a subscription based sat nav but your account/software is online so if you change your phone the sat nav goes along with you to the next phone - plus it works a treat on the HTC Hero and includes Speed Cam by default .
    https://www.wisepilot.com/nav11/site/portal.jsp
     
  24. sam_htc_hero

    sam_htc_hero New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    Orange Maps is available for HTC Hero as well, I installed it a few weeks back..It seems to be ok so far, not as good as TomTom was on my HTC Touch HD earlier..(It does have Voice Navigation ..but the routes are not that good..probably the underlying algorithm for calculating the fastest route needs to be looked into by Orange)

    Am planning to go for Copilot 8 as apparently it has live traffic info (not sure if its there for UK or not..) and at approx
     
  25. peterc10

    peterc10 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    80
    have a read of users comments on THIS forum. You will see that there has been a lot of complaints about Copilot
    Setting daft routes
    Poor customer support
    Not supporting 3rd party cameras very well

    The camera databases of most sat navs are very poor and out of date. I always use the one from PGPSW, at is by far the most accurate (for UK at least).

    Because of these problems I chose Sygic's Mobile Maps 9, which I have been very pleased with - good routing, good customer support and easy to put PGPSW cameras and spoken alerts onto it. More expensive than Copolit (but not much more if you want all of Europe) and you can't get it from the market. Either Teleatlas or Sygic sell it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...