CoPilot on HTC Desire


Last Updated:

  1. Maura

    Maura New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a new HTC Desire and I was hoping to transfer my TomTom Navigator 7 to it, unfortunately TomTom do not have support for Androids so I purchased CoPilot 8.
    Apart from a few installation problems which have been sorted by CoPilot
     

    Advertisement
  2. fletchem

    fletchem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    12
    I am guessing you are aware that there is free SatNav with the phone via Google Maps.
     
  3. photek1000

    photek1000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    3
    I was going to buy Co-Pilot, as an ex HTC Touch Cruise user with Co-Pilot 7 which was excellent, when I saw Co-Pilot 8 for Android was less than 30 quid I thought bargain, then when the desire arrived Google Navigation was sat there, so I thought I'll give it a whirl before spending any money.

    And the result, it's superb, no need to ever purchase navigation software, the integration to the maps and even street view is excellent.

    The only bit I don't like is the voice is a bit rubbish, but that's there to live with at this price point.

    Sorry thread hijack from an ex Co-Pilot user.
     
  4. APK

    APK Active Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    2
    The clue may be in the comment "The maps I purchased for
     
  5. MH75

    MH75 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    How is the data downloaded onto the phone?

    Can you just download it onto a PC then transfer to the sd card?
     
  6. damuffinman

    damuffinman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    13
    With Copilot when you launch it for the first time it basically downloads the maps that you have a license for, but Google Maps only downloads them on the go as you need it...hence expensive roaming data charges
     
  7. drbell

    drbell Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    Had Co-Pilot on my HTC HD2 and bought it again when i got the Desire. Stupid Idiot!! Spent
     
  8. tanbe174

    tanbe174 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    11

    then why does it need to have Mobile Internet on to run CoPilot. It actually uses data, so there is no big differences between Google navigation and CoPilot.
     
  9. gie62001

    gie62001 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    25
    no you dont need mobile internet to run copilot, unless you run it for the first time so it checks something or downloads something, but then it might be also needing internet if you have some online services (weather, traffic) allowed, which needs data to be fetched from databases. but maps are stored on SD cards,thus, not you dont need internet to navigate. whereas, google navigatio is constantly on to draw the maps as you go.
     
  10. 400ixl

    400ixl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    11
    Correct, data is only required for Live services.

    Used CoPilot a couple of weeks ago in France. Didn't get the phone roaming enabled as we had another one with us so there is no way it could have used data and it worked fine.
     
  11. Maura

    Maura New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have been using CoPilot for a few weeks now we have arranged for the internet connection to be blocked deliberately by our server. My husband has TomTom 7 and when it was first installed on his HTC Touch HD he received internet connection charges of more than €300 because the navigator was updating all the time without his knowledge. We have both arranged for the internet to be blocked since then.
    Once CoPilot is installed it cost nothing to run as the maps are preinstalled on the SD card. If you need to change your plans with Google Maps you need an internet connection and there is no voice guidance as far as I am aware.
     
  12. diggedy

    diggedy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    2
     
  13. Fishyweb

    Fishyweb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    26
     
  14. hossein01

    hossein01 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    On my HTC desire, street view on Google Satnav wont come up, it did at first.
    Anybody having similar problem ? Or care to comment please.
     
  15. Rushey

    Rushey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    15
    I've just migrated from a HTC Touch Cruise 2 to a HTC Desire, and wanted to bring my CoPilot Live 8 across.

    I had to buy a core Android CoPilot Live product, so I (re)bought UK & Ireland, but I was able to transfer my other products (USA/Canada maps, and UK Premier Traffic Alerts) across for free.

    Rob
     
  16. pspbricker

    pspbricker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    4
    To be honest, I prefer Navigon, at least until Google maps improves, or Tomtom release an Android version. I found Copilot slow to respond in the menu, and the voices sound distorted.
    Google Maps won't catch on as a pan-european solution until maps are able to be preloaded to the SD card - as soon as you leave your home country, roaming charges render Google maps useless. Anyway, it's not available officially in all countries - although Lekky's tips and tricks can get around that.
     

Share This Page

Loading...