CoPilot on the Hero - any good?


Last Updated:

  1. jim_h

    jim_h Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    17
    Hi,

    I'm thinking of buying CoPilot for a trip to France later in the year. Looking on the Android market, the version I need is around
     

    Advertisement
  2. pdrhan

    pdrhan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    3
    I use MobileMaps 9 - works perfect with door to door voice navigation
     
    jim_h likes this.
  3. hellybob

    hellybob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    3
    I use CoPilot on my Hero and it works fine and I have only ever lost GPS once and I just had to reboot.

    I have been using it for about 3/4 weeks and I really like it.

    It is not as good as TomTom so you might not like it to begin with.

    Hats off to you for getting TomTom on your E71. I never could and so I used Ovi maps which CoPilot wipes the floor with.
     
    jim_h likes this.
  4. andy d

    andy d Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    18
    From what Ive seen the reviews for co pilot are not that good.
    And if i was to be honest it would have to go a long way to beat TomTom.

    If it was me i would use the satnav that you have on your E71 and wait for TomTom to release their Android version.
     
    jim_h likes this.
  5. jim_h

    jim_h Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    17
    pdrhan - I didn't know there were any other navigation apps for Android, so I'll have a look at MobileMaps. Thanks.

    Hellybob - I doubt there's much out there to beat TomTom. It was a pain to get working on the E71, but patience paid off. I had to use an external gps reciever as TomTom wouldn't recognise the internal one in the phone, which was annoying. There was a patch to fix that, but it never worked for me. As it cost me
     
  6. hellybob

    hellybob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    3
    Arh you have made me feel less thick. It was the external GPS that put me off the Tomtom I remember now.

    In some ways I prefer the CoPilot for the motorway guidance and telling you which lane to be in.

    I find the speed cameras accurate enough and I have also subscribed to the traffic extra which is not as good as traffic on the Tomtom but it works OK.

    I only got the Uk version and for
     
  7. alinver

    alinver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    13
    I used CoPilot on my iphone and I've bought it again for my Hero, it has never let me down even in rural Scotland. I cannot compare it to any stand alone sat navs simply because I've never owned one. I think I paid about
     
  8. G8D

    G8D Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    4
    I would wait. If you have a rooted phone you will be able to use Google Navigation for free in the future.
     
  9. jim_h

    jim_h Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    17
    I haven't had the courage to root it yet. I was waiting for 2.1 to be released before making that decision :)
     
  10. G8D

    G8D Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    4
    Well maybe Google will have released Nav to everyone by the time we get 2.1 :)
     
  11. peterc10

    peterc10 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    80
    Beware of using the new "free" Google Nav when you are roaming, or if you do not have a data inclusive package as it will cost you a fortune in data download charges. It does not save maps and requires them to be downloaded via the phone. "Proper" sat nav has the maps saved on the SD card.

    I would recomend Sygic's Mobile Maps, as others have done here. It is only a bit more expensive than Copilot. Their support is very good. If you look at these forums you will find comments on both. You can't buy it on the market. Either Sygic's site or Teleatlas site - the latter is cheaper and includes a 4Gb microSD card.
     
  12. daveybaby

    daveybaby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    919
    Likes Received:
    105
    Been using copilot for a while now and i've found it to be perfectly ok. Its crashed once requiring a reboot which is a bit annoying, but overall for 25 quid i think its pretty good value for money.
     
  13. roundst

    roundst Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've used CoPilot in various forms for ages now, and rarely been let down by it.
    Can't say i've had a problem with their tech support either.

    It was the first program i bought for my Hero - and it's been smooth running since. Updates come out fairly frequently since i got it, but gets better each time.

    Maybe when the probs were occurring it was on the initial release.

    C
     
  14. tandmads

    tandmads New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've used CoPilot for a month now, and haven't touched my Garmin since, works good enough to get me around
     
  15. antipesto93

    antipesto93 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    35
    i have used co-pilot on my m8's HERO...he had some cracked APK for it
    and it was a pleasure to use, its nice and smooth, unless you have many other apps running at the same time
    im to cheap to buy co-pilot for myself so i just use the google 2d version....where it gives you directions
     
  16. DeadlyDazza

    DeadlyDazza Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    14
    Yes, mint.
    Actually replaced my dedicated Garmin Sat-Nav.
     
  17. stupendo

    stupendo Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    I agree, had co-pilot on a hero for a couple of months, quick and accurate so would recommend. As others have said for
     
  18. jim_h

    jim_h Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    17
    Well, I'm still torn. Having looked at Sygic's product from TeleAtlas (as Peterc10 said), I can buy it for a similar price to CoPilot and it does look pretty good too. For CoPilot, I'd have to go with the
     
  19. omidb1

    omidb1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    Can someone please tell me does the
     
  20. roundst

    roundst Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes it does contain the maps - pretty much up to date too :)

    c
     
  21. bluenova

    bluenova OK Computer VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,618
    Likes Received:
    244
    I was wondering does CoPilot come with unlimited map updates or are they time restricted?
     

Share This Page

Loading...