Copying photo's from PC to SD Card; crazy results!


Last Updated:

  1. GlennT

    GlennT Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have a few family members in my contact group who don't live nearby. I had a photo that included three of them so I cropped and saved from that photo so I would have individual pictures of each person, all in jpg format.
    Next I connected the Hero to the PC and mounted the SD card, and transferred the pictures to the phone.
    To be sure they were OK I opened each file using photoshop and they appeared to be correctly copied so I closed and unmounted the card.Then I opened my contact file and began to edit these contacts in order to add the picture...
    instead of showing the cropped image there were three copies of the original uncropped picture that I started with. Thinking that I had somehow screwed up the works, I closed that out and went to "albums" on the Hero. The pictures there appeared as they should; all three images were the ones that I had cropped using photoshop.

    So, I reopened my contact file and began the process again of editing in order to add a picture for these guys. Again, the uncropped pictures were available, but when I selected one to add it gave me the cropped image... I had to go from one to another to determine which one I needed for each person's area. So I ended up with the correct cropped images for each person, but how could it give the uncropped images in the selection process? The images were all cropped and saved on my PC before transferring to the SC card.

    Any ideas as to what is going on here?
     

    Advertisement
  2. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    Does sound weird, surely something in the way the photos were cropped and then saved as jpgs..

    I would just take an un-cropped photo and use the yellow Bands in the phones contact facility to do the selecting and cropped portion of the photo to be added to the contact.


     
  3. GlennT

    GlennT Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    At the time I didn't realize that I could select a portion of the photo so I cropped using photoshop on the PC. Thanks.
     
  4. eyebeam

    eyebeam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    5,418
    Likes Received:
    3,091
    Wow! that is weird. I did the exact same thing with a VERY old version of Photo Studio (easier then Photoshop just to crop) and had no problem.
     
  5. UTnick

    UTnick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    7
    there is name for this and i can't remember, but it's funny because people will do this exact thing to uncover things in photos people didn't want seen. never crop -- always cut out the selection you want and save it new.
     
  6. pking

    pking Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    It sounds like what you were seeing were simply cached thumbnails. It's no surprise that the Hero has had some caching issues (misnamed apps, missing icons, etc). Were the filenames particularly long (16+ characters)?
     
  7. GlennT

    GlennT Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    Since all photo editing was done on the PC prior to file transfer how could it have been cached thumbnails? Filenames weren't anything special, other than being people's first name.
     
  8. PGR

    PGR Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    23
    What software did you use to crop the images? Some software doesn't actually crop. It just adds zoom information to the meta data in the image but that only works in the software you did it with. While not necessarily typical, this isn't uncommon with photo editing software which comes bundled with some cameras.

    Try using IrfanView. It's an excellent photo viewer/editor/convertor and it's free. I have Adobe Photoshop CS4 on my computer and I know how to use it, but Irfanview is still my go-to program for quick cropping, edits, and resizing for non-critical things like Internet and phone images. It's quick and easy and does a good job.

    Pete
     
  9. GlennT

    GlennT Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    Adobe Photoshop 6.0
     
  10. pa4ul

    pa4ul Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    When i select a photo to tag someone is highlights their faces individually and then i get to select which one i want for the tag. From there i can make it bigger or smaller. The phone did it on its own though. No help from any programs.
     
  11. kennyidaho

    kennyidaho Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    5
    Maybe that's the problem. It's possible that since the software is so old it could be handling image data then software does not these days.

    Download The GIMP and give it a shot.
     

Share This Page

Loading...