• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Corrupted EFS folder

Bazooka Tooth

Sep 19, 2012
Hi there, I'm having a little trouble with my Galaxy S2, I'm a newbie to rooting and installing custom ROM's on my phone but have a rooted phone and wanted to try some different ROM's out, I knew it would be a good idea to make a backup of my EFS folder on my PC so that it wouldn't become corrupted with excess flashing, I used a program called EFS pro to do this and managed to save my EFS on PC fine, however now my phone has a number of problems, the home button no longer works, certain apps won't even open and my phone doesn't seem to be recognising my SIM. I tried to format the EFS folder and reinstall the one I had saved on my PC but it made no difference, does anyone know any ways to get around this problem, will I have to format my whole phone or is there a simple solution? Thanks for any help in advance

I think the rom I used was SGS2_XX_OXA_LPH-v5.2-CWM5

That's not a ROM, it looks like a kernel.

I've looked into it a bit further and this thread seems to pretty accurately describe the symptoms of my phone, unfortunately I don't have the technical know-how to properly follow the instructions :eek:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1611796

THose instructions are for a completely different model of phone, the Skyrocket and T989, and are not compatible with the GT-i9100.

1. Restore your nandroid backup, assuming you have one.

or

2. Reflash your ROM again.

Not a good idea to tinker with the efs file as a rule. ;)

Upvote 0
Sorry I think I posted an old kernel I used, I believe I'm using a Chainfire ROM, unfortunately I haven't got a Nandroid backup, I've heard of it but unsure how to make one, I tried reflashing the ROM again but it made no difference, I'm guessing my only option now is to save all my apps to titanium backup and format my phone

Upvote 0