1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

Could someone tell me this?


Last Updated:

  1. nicwave

    nicwave New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm new to android. I've an optimus T, do I need a data plan to download some apps from market place? Can I do it over wifi? Thanks in advance...
     

    Advertisement
  2. txwolf1980

    txwolf1980 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    53
    yes. you can. Anything that you would use a data plan for can be done over wifi (streaming, downloading, chatting etc).
     
  3. nicwave

    nicwave New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do I download App using wifi and where does it download to? Thanks...
     
  4. txwolf1980

    txwolf1980 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    53
    simple. Turn on wifi, connect to whatever network you are going to use, and then download off of market the same way you normally would. As for where the apps go, they are installed and the icons are inserted into your app drawer for you automatically. The only exception to this , is if you decide to download a 3rd party app from a website, or something. To do this, you need to go to settings>applications> developement and check unknown sources. then when you download an app off of a site, it goes to your sd card in the form of an .apk file. you open it, and click install and you are good. the icon goes to your app draower.
     
  5. nicwave

    nicwave New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks txwolf1980, I did all the above but when I tried to install an app from market but it hung, it said downloading... and stall there. Any other tips? Thanks...
     
  6. txwolf1980

    txwolf1980 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    53
    That so nds like an issue with market. The fact that it could connect tells me your wifi is fine. Try going to setting- applications- manage applications. Let it load. Find market and click on it. There should be an option for 'clear data' click it, and clear cache, if it's lit. Then reboot and try again.
     

Share This Page

Loading...