Could the reason my phone isn't connecting be?


Last Updated:

  1. kellysa111

    kellysa111 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    7
    So, as some of you may know, since the 2.1 update and the update for the HTC Sync, my phone has not been connecting to my laptop. It does connect to charge, but I do not get the notification icon asking how I want it to connect (i.e. as a disk drive,htc sync etc..). After downloading the HTC sync software for my windows 7 laptop, I went into my device manager and searched for the adb driver. To my surprise, it wasn't there. The last time I installed HTC Sync, the driver was there, and it worked for like 2 times. Then, I updated my phone and had to update the HTC Sync, and from there started the problem where the phone is charged. To make things easier for you guys, I did go under settings and clicked on the type of connection I want the phone to go through when plugged into the laptop.

    So, my question is... Could the missing adb driver be the problem as to why the phone is not connecting at all? And if it is that, where can I find just the driver since I have the HTC sync software.
     

    Advertisement
  2. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,274
    Likes Received:
    7,880
    Have you tried to uninstall the HTC sync and install it again ??
     
  3. kellysa111

    kellysa111 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    7
    Many times. It still does not work. All the phone does is charge.
     
  4. treborcj

    treborcj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    33
    You don't need HTC sync. I can connect my phone to both Vista and Window 7 without it. Uninstall and try to connect.
     
  5. kellysa111

    kellysa111 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    7
    I have tried uninstalling it and just connecting the phone without it, but it does not recognize the phone.
     
  6. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,863
    Likes Received:
    779
  7. kellysa111

    kellysa111 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    7
    Did all that and still all it does is charge when connected.

    I am using the original cable that came with the phone. I have seen that some people use different cables and that's why its not working for them, but I have the original one. Unless, the cable isn't working...but I don't have money for a new one...
     
  8. Sixxx

    Sixxx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    18
    You can get a new cable off ebay for like...a dollar. But i really doubt it's a cable problem. Like everyone said it's most likely a Windows problem.
     
  9. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,274
    Likes Received:
    7,880

    If it is charging then it is not the cable, have you called Sprint??? also you can try to call HTC tech support, also can you try it on another PC to see if it connect to another PC
     
  10. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,863
    Likes Received:
    779
    Try a different usb port?
     
  11. kellysa111

    kellysa111 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    7
    I really did not want to call Sprint or HTC...but I will have to.
    I have three different usb ports that I have tried and none of them recognize that the phone is a usb device. I do connect my zune to these same ports and it works fine.
     
  12. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,274
    Likes Received:
    7,880
    Before going will tech support, try it on another PC
     
  13. kellysa111

    kellysa111 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    7
    It won't connect on my other laptop either.
     
  14. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,863
    Likes Received:
    779
    I would take it back. Seems like a hardware problem.

    Sent from my HERO200 using Tapatalk
     
  15. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,274
    Likes Received:
    7,880

    OK so sounds like a driver issue, I would contact HTC, before contacting Sprint,
    Telephone

    United States & Canada (English)

    Language Hotline Days Hours English 866-449-8358 7 days a week 6am EST to 1am EST 7 days a week
     
  16. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Drag down the notification bar and change the connection type?
     
  17. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,274
    Likes Received:
    7,880

    She says it is not showing up at all!!
     
  18. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Well, on 1.5 if popped up on it's own IIRC, and with 2.1 it doesn't pop up. They way you have to go about changing the type is different between the two.

    Just trying to eliminate what we may consider normal/obvious :)
     
  19. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,274
    Likes Received:
    7,880
    I hear you, but she does not get the scroll bar, it is not recognized at all, I think she maybe missing something in her phone that allows her PC to recognize the phone, she also tried it on another PC and gets the same scenerio
     
  20. kellysa111

    kellysa111 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    7
    I'll be calling tomorrow from my brother's phone and see what they tell me. I have seen that some other people are having the same problem, although its not that many. I'll post it here and see if it helps anyone else with the problem

    Edit: by pure chance, my friend has a camera with the same usb connection as the hero. I tried connecting. it, and it worked! I guess it was the cable that doesnt work. Thanks for your help guys
     

Share This Page

Loading...