Couple of Questions


Last Updated:

  1. dblake15

    dblake15 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    4
    I posted this on Crackberry.com with no replies. just wondering if anyone knows.

    I have not heard too much about this until I did some digging and wondering if someone can clear this up.

    I am hearing the droid has a 256 MB app limit on it and that you cannot receive data and talk on the phone at the same time as it is a CDMA limitation.

    Are these true??
     

    Advertisement
  2. Kamilli0n

    Kamilli0n Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    1
    I believe both of these are true.
     
  3. greg72

    greg72 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    It does have a 256 MB app limit but most apps are pretty small (~1 - 2 MB) but the app can pull data off the storage card. For example say you have an e-book reader. The app will reside on the 256 MB but all the e-books could be read off the storage card.

    Usually when I'm talking on the phone the furthest thing from my mind is cruising the web. Only downturn I see is that google maps wouldn't have a connection but from what I understand if you have a route programmed in it will cache the route so you may be able to navigate and talk at the same time. Guess time will tell. That and being such an open platform there is always room for development and improvements.
     
  4. dblake15

    dblake15 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    4
    Yeah not worried about "surfing the web" while on the phone, but if I am on a conf call and someone sends me an email to look at then it becomes a problem as I have to hang up get the email and then call back. So that could be a problem.
     
  5. greg72

    greg72 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good point.
     
  6. knickerbocker

    knickerbocker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have had a CDMA smartphone for quite a while now - 4 plus years and I have never run into needing data while on a call. But that being said, if you are in sales or on the road more than I, it could be an issue.
     
  7. dblake15

    dblake15 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    4
    yeah it happens to me a lot. Do they ever plan on fixing this, or does verizon have a phone that can do that now?? Currently on AT&T and love the Bold and iphone because of the 3G which can do data and voice. But I really want the Droid.
     
  8. travva

    travva Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    dblake: with the latest shift on vzw being towards wifi enabled phones, this is less of a problem than before. if you're connected via wifi you can talk and use data simultaneously. hope this helps.
     
  9. dblake15

    dblake15 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    4
    definitely and thanks. But the problem happens if you are in the car, unless you have a mifi.
     
  10. 3devious

    3devious Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,362
    Likes Received:
    115
    I thought that the Droid is an HSDPA device which would mean when Verizon rolls out its LTE network, this will be moot with no hardware upgrade needed. That was a main attaction for me with this phone. I hope that wasn't just a rumor.
     
  11. knickerbocker

    knickerbocker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is a limitation of CDMA network of Verizon vs At&t is GSM.
     
  12. johninbigd

    johninbigd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    7
    Does this also mean that I will not be able to receive SMS messages while on a call like I can with my iPhone?
     
  13. gthrift

    gthrift Guest

    No, SMS comes in over the voice radio, not the data radio.
     
  14. johninbigd

    johninbigd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    7
    Got it. So, it would meant that I couldn't send or receive email while on a call, though, which might end up being a little annoying at times.
     
  15. blazingwolf

    blazingwolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    1
    This will change when Verizon rolls out LTE. You will need a new phone to use it though as the Droid is CDMA only.
     
  16. blazingwolf

    blazingwolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    1
    This Droid is CDMA only.
     
  17. dblake15

    dblake15 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    4
    thanks for all of your help. I guess I will have to test it out and maybe I will have to order a mifi to get through this. I never thought I would say that AT&T has something I wish verizon had.
     
  18. 3devious

    3devious Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,362
    Likes Received:
    115
    Then the only other option a Droid user has is to move the phone to Sprint (for larger carriers, that is?) Interesting.
     
  19. BSmith

    BSmith Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    I wouldn't get too caught up on the 256 MB limit. I'm sure that problem will be cured like it was on the Iphone.
     
  20. dblake15

    dblake15 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    4
    yeah not too worried about it as the Blackberries had that issue too. As long as it does not have the memory leak like my blackberry then I am fine.
     
  21. joscon

    joscon Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Simultaneous Voice and data is not only possible on CDMA, I do it often While tethered to my laptop, and on a call. I don't know yet it the Droid will do this, but my BB Storm does and my Curve before that.

    It is not a CDMA issue.
     
  22. joscon

    joscon Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is. The chipset that will be used for LTE is not backwards compatible.
     
  23. michaelk

    michaelk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    1
    you sure that you have actively been using data when it happens? I am 99.9% certain the phone call will put the EV data conection on standby and then switch the radio to 1x to pick up the call. When you hang up the phone will switch back to the EV connection and resume where it left off.

    EVDO-Rev A does technically have the bandwidth to use VOIP for voice over the EV connection but verizon didn't implement it when Rev A was deployed it as they seem to think their 1x network is the best way to move their voice traffic. In fact they have said they will kill off EVDO in the foreseeable future once LTE comes online but will continue to use the CDMA 1x network for voice even with the LTE.

    Could be some local areas with Rev A have moved the voice to VOIP on EV but i'd be surprised if that's the case.
     
  24. joscon

    joscon Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Now that you mention it, I can't say with 100% certainty. However, I'm a bldg automation guy and have been online with web based control systems and on the phone with the customer at the same time. (Tethered both usb or bluetooth.) In all fairness, it is possible the data was cached.
     
  25. michaelk

    michaelk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    1

    I know on Palm and Winmo OS it behaves as I described. But might be somethign BB does with voip on EVDO. If you get a chance would be cool to try it on your BB's and report back.
     

Share This Page

Loading...