Creating a new ODIN backup


Last Updated:

  1. SoulCreator

    SoulCreator Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    4
    After countless calls to t-mobile I have *FINALLY* received my update, which means now that I've got the updated kernel I'm ready to upgrade to BH_MAN's rom... But of course if something goes wrong I'd hate to ODIN back to a buggy system.

    So my question is this: can anyone instruct me on the process of creating a new ODIN file on a system with the updates? Because unless the process is way over my head I'd really love to give it a shot.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Nu11u5

    Nu11u5 Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    234
    I'm working on a separate post to do exactly that. I'll be needing a dumped ROM from the first part of my instructions to test before I post the second part - installing.

    Stay tuned.
     
  3. SoulCreator

    SoulCreator Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    4
    I don't think the original download link still works, but I've got the system dump paul89 made a few days ago... Let me know if you need it.
     
  4. Nu11u5

    Nu11u5 Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    234
    I believe that Paul89's system dump was just a straight file copy of the /system directory. I would prefer a complete dump of the chip that stores that directory itself.

    If you know how to set up ADB I can walk you through the dump process. Its simple and safe.

    Do you currently have root on your phone? If not that's ok - I'm actually looking to get an unmodified/unrooted dump first.
     
  5. chadmd23

    chadmd23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    57
    I might be able to help, I have 2x B2s right now:

    My real one: updated, rooted and many apps deleted

    A replacement: from the factory, not updated, not even booted yet.


    I'll do whatever I can to help. I can even try to force the update if that helps.
     
  6. SoulCreator

    SoulCreator Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    4

    I've got GDE running on a updated, unmodified system (aka no root)... If I run a hard reset it will be 100% stock with updates.

    Edit: I just responded to your PM, I'll get down to business when I get back later in the evening.

    Also I've got ADB up and running, so let me know what you need me to do.
     
  7. Nu11u5

    Nu11u5 Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    234
    I may send you a link for files as a secondary test for the flashing process after I test on mine.
     
    chadmd23 likes this.
  8. Nu11u5

    Nu11u5 Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    234

Share This Page

Loading...