• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

[CUSTOM BOOT SPLASH][HOW-TO] Change VM's "Hello" screen!

Dracable

Android Enthusiast
Oct 11, 2012
Humboldt County, CA
phandroid_zps2af82509.png

How to change the Virgin Mobile "Hello" boot logo

Customized PNG-2-RLE Batch Utility

The splash screen on the Virgin Mobile Alcatel/PCD Venture is a bit trickier than others. Ive been researching this diligently for a couple months now, and Im thinking there is something goofy with the coding in the framebuffer, but im not quite yet brave enough to tackle a custom kernel. Anyway, i FINALLY was able to come up with a workaround for it, tested and working! If you follow my instructions EXACTLY, you will have a beautifully UNDISTORTED custom splash screen for your Venture! I put a LOT of time and effort into figuring out and making this workaround, so please dont be shy with that "thanks" button if my work helps you out! If you have any questions, feel free to PM me on androidforums.com at: Dracable. Have fun!!

P.S. PLEASE READ my README_VM_VENTURE.txt file that is in the root of the zip! It contains NECESSARY information to creating a working boot splash! If you dont follow step-by-step, your splash will be corrupt and completely distorted!

DOWNLOAD VM VENTURE PNG-2-RLE SPLASH UTILITY

Thanks to Yagya Gaire at Handy Information for the original (unmodified) source of the converter!

:) Enjoy!!! :)

IMG_20121228_194653.jpg

[photo of my splash for my ROM under development, "DRAndroid"]