custom rom


Last Updated:

  1. sparky13925

    sparky13925 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    im still trying to get a good feel for what i am doing before i go and root my phone and flash a custom rom. my last real question is i see so many different custom roms people are using. where can i find all these to put on my phone.

    also i am on 2.1 do i have to use a 2.something custom rom or can i use any custom rom.

    im at about an 95% user ability as far as using my phone and computer. i have never hacked/ flashed/ altered anything like a phone or computer or video game system. i have always just used as is. i wanna try this becuase i have read i can go back and go stock on this if i cant do it or dont like the results.

    thanks

    rog
     

    Advertisement
  2. Heaterz16

    Heaterz16 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    16
    Go here to get the link for all the latest Roms: http://androidforums.com/all-things-root-sprint-hero/31394-latest-custom-roms.html

    Go here to root: [GUIDE] How to Root Sprint 2.1 Release for CDMA Hero - xda-developers

    Once you root you can put any rom on your phone 1.5 or 2.1, just make sure you always backup and wipe before flashing. Good luck.
     
    thefley likes this.
  3. sparky13925

    sparky13925 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    well i followed the instructions for root. my phone isnt a brick. guess i did it. ill look at the custom roms later.

    the "backup and wipe before flashing", is that covered somewhere.

    sorry for the dumb questions. if flashing a rom is as easy as root access ill be ok. easy just time consuming downloading and typing all the commands in.

    thanx

    rog
     
  4. Heaterz16

    Heaterz16 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    16
    Download a custom rom and put in the root of your sd card; power off phone.
    Hold the Home key, and while still holding Home, turn the phone on, don't let off the Home key until you see the recovery screen (green writing).

    It is pretty self explanatory in there, just follow the menus: Wipe>Factory/Data Reset and you can Wipe Dalvik Cache as well
    Backup, Nand Backup (copy your nandroid backups to your computer just in case); Flash, select ROM you put on card and it will install, then reboot (note, it takes 5-10 minutes to boot usually after a new rom is installed)

    If you have more questions, post them up.
     
    thefley likes this.
  5. thefley

    thefley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    26
    thanks for the help, I had the same questions
     
  6. sparky13925

    sparky13925 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I'll see how this works out for me. thanx.
    Rog
     
  7. bstep01

    bstep01 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ran the fresh 2.1 and it has booted up, kinda. I have an Android bot dancing on my screen for about 5 minutes now.....anything else gonna happen!?!?:eek:
     
  8. Bat~man

    Bat~man Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    29
    Sometimes the first boots take a long time from what I read.

    Also, just from the research I have done this is what I would say to do

    Wait a while and if it is indeed in a bootloop, just wipe data from recovery again and reflash the rom from your SDcard.
     
    bstep01 likes this.
  9. bstep01

    bstep01 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    6
    After I posted that, it moved. :)
    Definatly faster, I cant wait to manuever thru this new rom!
     
  10. bstep01

    bstep01 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ok, I officially love fresh 2.1 for sure! I am wirelessly tethered and quickly I might add! and the live wallpapers are cool as Hell! Kudos!
     
  11. thefley

    thefley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    26
    ok I am rooted, and have downloaded the new fresh rom,(cant find the older ones) how do I push it to the phone now?
     
  12. Heaterz16

    Heaterz16 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    16
    See my 2nd post above
     
  13. mysticmead

    mysticmead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    175
    just to avoid any problems that may/will come up later. you can ONLY flash a rom that is made for the Sprint CDMA Hero. The CDMA Hero for Sprint is not the same as the HTC Hero sold in Europe.

    The HTC Hero is a GSM phone and flashing a GSM ROM will in fact brick your phone. By Bricking I mean turning into a very expensive paper weight. Please only use ROM's listed in the http://androidforums.com/all-things-root-sprint-hero/31394-latest-custom-roms.html as noted above. Always READ the ROM info before flashing. If unsure if it's a GSM ROM or not, please ASK before flashing..
     

Share This Page

Loading...