Customizing the HTC Hero keyboard


Last Updated:

  1. FADviral

    FADviral Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm in the UK but notice it's got an American keyboard layout (from a shifted symbols point of view). For example, the top row reads like this:

    ! @ # $ % & * ? /

    instead of

    ! "
     

    Advertisement
  2. Raphaels

    Raphaels Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    +1, even if it is by a long press on $ that will give you
     
  3. FADviral

    FADviral Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    What do you mean by "+1" ?
     
  4. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,383
    Likes Received:
    16,485
  5. FADviral

    FADviral Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same here. For local currency symbols, I have to click 12#, then 1/2. It's a bit of a pain. I filed a ticket with HTC support to see if customization is possible.
     
  6. nafe

    nafe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's a message-board figure of speech, it means "yeah, me too - I agree".
     
  7. sundials

    sundials Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have you taken a look at the "Touchpal" keyboard on the market?
     
  8. franners

    franners Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    I run Touchpal and it is superb. The correction and prediction is much better than stock Android. It's currently free on the Market.
     
  9. hatch

    hatch Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Quick update........

    I got in touch with HTC today and it doesn't seem like the guy knew about the
     
  10. MartinS

    MartinS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,111
    Likes Received:
    197
    I also am stuck with the $ symbol in the UK - would like to obviously get a
     
  11. FADviral

    FADviral Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    It looks very like the keyboard in the HTC Hero. Does the HTC Hero have a stock Android keyboard? Does Touchpal let you customize keys?
     
  12. MartinS

    MartinS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,111
    Likes Received:
    197
    I have downloaded this Touchpal App and the English language option which now shows up in the settings menu on my device.

    However the keyboard looks the same and there is still only a $ symbol on there.

    Anyone got around this yet?
     
  13. sundials

    sundials Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    When you hit the number key and it brings the number board up you can swipe to the side or use the arrows to move to more options
     
  14. MartinS

    MartinS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,111
    Likes Received:
    197
    ?

    Doesn't seem to do anything. What I mean is, is there a way to get the
     
  15. sundials

    sundials Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    I will keep looking and I will post if I work it out
     
  16. FADviral

    FADviral Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    To be honest, I'm reluctant to download that Touchpal app because it looks exactly like the HTC Hero keyboard. Are you sure that's not the keyboard we're already using? HTC seem to have a habit of licensing other company's software to use in their own devices (the Twitter app falls into this category for example). Also, as Martin says, holding down the dollar does not grant access to any other character when you hold it down and swipe.

    Having to go through three keyboard pages to access the local currency character is just crazystupidignorant UI design on HTC's part.
     
  17. robbiec

    robbiec Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0

    Oh yeah, I never noticed that before.. it is slightly annoying.

    I don't get why they have put a settings button on the keybaord layout.. hardly something that's used frequently :confused:
     
  18. ianr

    ianr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    18
    I use the keyboard settings button usually about twice per day. Never deliberately though!

    I also find the pound sign being 4 presses away very irritating. (and no, for any U.S.ers present, I mean the pound sign as in currency, not the "hash" symbol, like a noughts and crosses board, the one you use to represent the "pound" in weight).
     
  19. Mojo Fones

    Mojo Fones Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    TouchPal is completely different to the Hero keypad so I think you might be looking at something different. TouchPal has black keys and you can flick/swipe between the different layouts, have another look in the Market and check the install instructions. :)
     
  20. jimeller

    jimeller Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    409
    Likes Received:
    23
    You have to long press the text field And select input method in order to change from the stock android keypad to the touchpal one. I've just started using touchpal and although I like it cos its more fluid, there are a few gripes with it. not sure how long I'll stick with it. ...
     
  21. Kada Dix

    Kada Dix Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    this is really irritating!

    Also ive searched for Touchpal on the market and cant find it, has it been discontinued
     
  22. 2toon2fast

    2toon2fast New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can't even find the app.
     
  23. redrover

    redrover Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    3
    and I would like to be able to click on .co.uk not .com

    John..
     

Share This Page

Loading...