[CWM] Development Thread


Last Updated:

  1. Killah1994

    Killah1994 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    275
    This recovery doesn't work, links removed: seems that whenever building from the site it builds the updated version of cwm which is 6xx... but we need 5xx so for now I'm leaving this to the real devs;)
     

    Advertisement
  2. Shabbypenguin

    Shabbypenguin Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    5,383
    Likes Received:
    5,065
    didnt see recovery had gotten posted, to have them install is just copy to sdcard and dd the recovery.img back to the recovery partition
     
    Killah1994 likes this.
  3. Killah1994

    Killah1994 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    275
    ahdunno likes this.
  4. Shabbypenguin

    Shabbypenguin Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    5,383
    Likes Received:
    5,065
    uhhh dont you know what partition that is?

    part of porting cwm is setting up the fstab, which tells recovery what partitions are what, an incorrect one could have you formatting your bootloader thinking it was data or cache...

    you can get it in teh stock recovery when you unpack the img
     
  5. Killah1994

    Killah1994 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    275
    That's what I did, I unpacked the stock recovery and took the recovery.fstab then added it to the builder thing
     
  6. Shabbypenguin

    Shabbypenguin Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    5,383
    Likes Received:
    5,065
    ah ok, recovery should be listed in there, i dont think many here will know what partition it resides on :)
     
  7. Killah1994

    Killah1994 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    275
    Would this help

    Code (Text):
    1. # mount point   fstype      device          [device2]
    2.  
    3. /boot       mtd     boot
    4. /cache      yaffs2      cache
    5. /data       yaffs2      userdata
    6. /misc       mtd     misc
    7. /recovery   mtd     recovery
    8. /sdcard     vfat        /dev/block/mmcblk0p1    /dev/block/mmcblk0
    9. /system     yaffs2      system
    10.  
     
  8. Shabbypenguin

    Shabbypenguin Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    5,383
    Likes Received:
    5,065
    i seriously hope that isnt the true fstab, if someone with the device can do adb shell mount that will tell you where data and system reside and see. i wouldnt put it past them to use such an old (*&^ty setup, but is there a fstab emmc in the etc folder in teh recovery.img as well?
     
  9. Killah1994

    Killah1994 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    275
    That is the fstab for the stock recovery.img and there's no fstab emmc in there
     
  10. Shabbypenguin

    Shabbypenguin Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    5,383
    Likes Received:
    5,065
    jeez, to put in perspective the nexus s was teh last big name phone to use MTD :/

    (you know when Gingerbread came out :O)
     
  11. Killah1994

    Killah1994 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    275
    Dam, so in your words what does this mean;)
     
  12. Shabbypenguin

    Shabbypenguin Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    5,383
    Likes Received:
    5,065
    this phone is even crappier than originally thought :p

    but this means that flashing recovery should be a lot easier, since its mtd you can just use flash_image to flash it, no partition needed it will figure it on its own :)

    i did cwm for teh venture and they had to do the similar steps someone found a much easier way to flash for the end users, might wanna look into it

    virgin mobile venture btw on these forums
     
    Killah1994 likes this.
  13. Killah1994

    Killah1994 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    275
    Alright bud thanks for the info and help. Imma look into this some more;)
     
  14. Killah1994

    Killah1994 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    275
    Ok i did some research and found a way how to properly do this, still don't know if it will work. So do at your own risk. Thanks Shabby for the info
     
  15. gpjavan

    gpjavan Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    tryed it and it just goes to black screen saying recovery mode and sits there. I put stock recovery back on just letting you know it didn't work. Im working on it as well so if i get CWM on it ill let you know.
     
  16. Killah1994

    Killah1994 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    275
    OK thanks for trying ;), also I added a quote from which you made to the op
     
  17. killcmd

    killcmd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    90
    Oh how I love seeing my name. lol
     
  18. Killah1994

    Killah1994 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    275
    Lol you mind taking a whack at recovery
     
  19. killcmd

    killcmd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    90
    So I'm missing some kernel info, which is gonna be hell...
     
  20. andriodadmirer

    andriodadmirer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    142
    What do you need?
     
  21. Killah1994

    Killah1994 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    275
    Would this help (it contains some dev things which i dont fully understand)
     

    Attached Files:

  22. killcmd

    killcmd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    90
    So I was wrong and I have to update the Koush's CWM 5.x.x.x script to work with the new compilers. It's terrific... I hate that the phone has no ICS update! [​IMG]
     
  23. nthaniel

    nthaniel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    9
    What needs to happen next? I don't know what to do with the zip package, but I can do compiling if it's spelled out for me. I'd be glad to help if I can...I just don't have much experience in this area.
     
  24. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    8,109
    Likes Received:
    4,938
    You do NOT have to use cwm5, cwm 6 will work just fine. WTF does these misconceptions come from?

    I am looking into it by request of a friend, but no promises as I do not have the device.
     
  25. andriodadmirer

    andriodadmirer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    142
    Killcmd two post above this one mentions cwm 5 so i think that's where it started!
     

Share This Page

Loading...