Cyanogen 6 freezing


Last Updated:

  1. raiderfost

    raiderfost Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    just rooted phone last night and installed. Love the rom so far, phone is much more responsive,but today on 3 seperate occasions the phone will not come out of sleep and i have had to rmove battery to wake it back up. Any ideas?
    :confused:
     

    Advertisement
  2. androidtp

    androidtp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    64
    change anything in the cyanogen settings? also..if your ram is running low..it'll freeze up..download systray monitor to keep an eye on it. if it gets below 15mb then you're in trouble and it'll most likely freeze or restart itself.
     
  3. defkorn

    defkorn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    25
    Do you have any SetCPU profiles? If you set the CPU speed too low while the screen is off, you can have this type of issue "waking" it back up.
     
  4. androidtp

    androidtp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    64
    +1
     
  5. raiderfost

    raiderfost Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dont even know how to set cpu speed
     
  6. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    Which rom are you running the RC1 or a nightly?
     
  7. raiderfost

    raiderfost Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Rc1
     
  8. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    Honestly, the RC1 is now a month old and I would recommend flashing one of the new nightlies. Found here Index of /cm/nightly/heroc/ Newest ones are found at the bottom, try the 9/13

    Nandroid first

    Boot into recovery
    You don't have to wipe data, just wipe Davlik cache and cache and flash right over the RC1 with a nightly. Everything will be as you left it before flashing.

    Then, download oc widget (or setcpu) and set your frequencies. Min 480000, max 710

    See if that helps
     
  9. raiderfost

    raiderfost Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    What do you mean by "flash over" the rc1? Excuse my ignorance
     
  10. Thaxis

    Thaxis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    9
    I believe you have to flash the uncapped fix as well before overclocking above 691.
    You can find it here.
    [Kernel] BrainFuct Kernel - UncappedKernel [09/14/2010] - xda-developers
     
  11. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    No need to wipe data

    For instance, when you flash a new rom, usually by the devs standard is to wipe data, wipe cache and wipe Davlik cache. Then flash the new rom.

    In the case of the CM6, if your flashing a nightly over another nightly(or your case the RC1 with a nightly), there is NO need to wipe data. Only wipe cache and Davlik cache
     
    raiderfost and deedub like this.
  12. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,934
    Likes Received:
    460
    And this is why I haven't rooted - this thread just made my brain explode
     
  13. raiderfost

    raiderfost Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    we will see if that helps, installed latest rom but cant find oc widget
     
  14. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    Did you have it before? Or download from the android market: Overclock Widget Root Only
     
  15. raiderfost

    raiderfost Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Screen on or screen off ?
     
  16. androidtp

    androidtp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    64
    best results..

    screen on: 556-768
    screen off: 245-384
    then detech frequencies
    check auto start on boot
    then save

    Edit: i have my notifications turned off since it's kinda annoying to see when the overclock changes when i can clearly see the frequencies change.

    another notification is from the superuser app..i unchecked the notifications for that as well. just a personal preference
     
    andygu3 likes this.
  17. raiderfost

    raiderfost Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is it possible for me to get my sprint voicemail app back or something similar?
     
  18. Joehunni

    Joehunni Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,001
    Likes Received:
    77
    Actually, since he's having problems, wiping beforehand might be a good idea, otherwise, no need to between any cm6 roms.
     
  19. rse411

    rse411 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    So to install a nightly,

    -boot into recovery
    -nandroid backup
    -wipe cache
    -flash the nightly

    is that all?
     
  20. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
  21. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    What are you running now?

    As long as you are running RC1 or a previous nightly
    nandroid
    boot into recovery
    wipe cache and davlik cache
    flash nightly
    reboot
     
    rse411 likes this.
  22. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    I was thinking the same thing but he just rooted and flashed the RC1 last night.
     

Share This Page

Loading...