Cyanogen-like 2.0.1 ROM?


Last Updated:

  1. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86

    Advertisement
  2. Brutus2TheMax

    Brutus2TheMax Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    4
    Tried it this afternoon and just stayed on the Nexus bootscreen as if it were looped. Restored and went to MoDaCo 2.0 with kernel. Looked very good though! I was disappointed!
     
  3. Konikub

    Konikub Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    42
    Wow, it does look interesting. Not sure if I want to be a tester though....very tempting however! If anyone can get this to work....let us know. Sometimes it takes a long time for a boot, I personally have seen that be the case in one of my many "flashes"
     
  4. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    I'm going to give it a few days to settle down, then check it out
     
  5. Konikub

    Konikub Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    42
    I downloaded it...but then was like, whoa.....wait a little while. There is a storm or responses on that thread, trying to read them all now....but I still can't see (maybe I missed it) if there are more than three screens, like maybe/HOPEFULLY five!?!

    I like the "live wallpaper" deal, that seems cool. But you are right...they will be fixing it daily and making it better all the time. Give it a while and I'll pop it on my Hero for sure!
     
  6. kbussen

    kbussen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have been running this for the past 24 hours. It is very nice. It has its minor issues like all of the AOSPs ie... no bluetooth(they are working on this now), No camera. SMS send/receive is fine, MMS Send is fine/receive doesnt work. I have a vm issue in which a vm icon pops up on first flash and there is no way to clear it but it appears only myself and one other person is having the issue. The live wallpaper is killer. Not all of them work right now and some force close. I suggest a wipe before flashing.
     
  7. Konikub

    Konikub Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    42
    A few questions about this new ROM. I read ALL 60+ pages over there on the XDA forum...and there is a way for you to clear that vm issue I believe.

    I get some info that 5 screens is what it is running currently, can you confirm that? Also, that there was a akp/zip that let you run 7 screens!?!

    Do you have "live wallpaper"??

    I promise I'm not writting a book...lol, just gathering some facts in order to judge if I will be doing my first wipe + flash of a new ROM

    Thanks in advance man....glad to hear you are liking that new ROM, I might be getting on board here soon too :)
     
  8. kbussen

    kbussen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, majority of the questions about the VM issue was from me and illogic. I am Kbizzle. Unfortunately there hasnt been an answer on how to fix it. I currently dont have the VM icon right now but thats after about 8 wipes and flashes, lol. But yeah, I have tried all of the live wallpapers 8 of them do work. Im using the star field one right now and it is really cool. It does have 5 screens, I am not aware of a .apk that gives you 7. Havent really looked though since I typically only use 3.
     
  9. Konikub

    Konikub Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    42
    LOL, that's awesome....yeah you were all up in those posts!!! I was looking closely at you (Kbizzle) and illogic for that very reason :)

    Yeah that would be the wallpaper I would use too!!! Flying through space looks pretty dang cool! Good to hear that it has 5 screens too....I'll try to find that 7 Screen post in threre somewhere for you when I get a chance. It was CRAZY time consuming going through all 50+ pages reading about it all last night...lol. But ALL good stuff!!!!

    Thanks for all the heads up :)
     
  10. kbussen

    kbussen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Im glad you are one of the few that does extensive reading or atleast searching of large threads. Yeah Im loving the stars one and the real cool thing i wasnt aware of, the lockscreen does it too!! Like i said, it appears it is only me and illogic with the vm issue. It doesnt hurt anything but I am a tad bit OCD. Lol
     
  11. Konikub

    Konikub Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    42
    Hey kbizzle....I see you're still working out the kinks with the others over there in that thread :) Hope it's all coming together nicely!!!

    Question 1 - I see you still have your signiture as fresh 1.1 down below....is that something you flash over Cyanogen 2.0.1?

    Is this new ROM replacing our 1.5 or is it replacing Fresh 1.1?

    Question 2 - Did the live wallpaper come with the ROM or do you get it somewhere?

    Thanks a ton as alway!!!
     
  12. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    Now that I've found an app that I can turn data off with (Quick Settings), I'm planning on trying this ROM out tonight, just to have some fun with. Should be fun :D
     
  13. Konikub

    Konikub Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    42

    Keep us posted....I might very well be trying this out tongiht too. A little later tonight (after dinner of course) :)

    Screen shots anyone.....? I'll post them when I check it all out :)
     
  14. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    Doesn't look like "quick settings" works with this app, at least not according to the thread on XDA. We'll see in a few minutes :D
     
  15. kbussen

    kbussen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, Fresh doesnt go over the Cyanogen. Im just lazy. Lol. I dont know that im gonna make this my everyday yet.

    This rom is a complete new build. Its Android 2.0.1 and its what comes on the Moto DROID

    The live wallpapers did come with it.
     
  16. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    Ok, so quick settings does NOT work to turn off data, I've just confirmed that.

    This is my big annoyance about the 1.6+ ROM's, is that there doesn't seem to be a way to turn off mobile network. I don't exactly have much service most of the time, so not being able to turn data off can kill my battery quite a bit faster
     
  17. Konikub

    Konikub Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    42
    How about an "airplane" mode app....like they have in beautiful widgets?

    *EDIT* Nevermind I just read in the XDA forums that "airplane" mode turns off phone calls as well and that is not what you are searching for :D
     
  18. Konikub

    Konikub Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    42
    Here we go......booting up now!!! I'll post picture of it all "IF" all is well..lol WOW, that didn't take long...

    This thing is SWEET!
     
  19. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    yeah it is. The clock widget has an option to turn it into a desk clock, even landscape mode...after 5 minutes it turns into like night mode, with green on black, pretty awesome. Still some bugs of course, with the weather part of that clock for one thing.

    It's freakin awesome though, and has a LOT of potential.
     
  20. Konikub

    Konikub Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    42
    OMFG....this is ridiculous!!! L.O.V.E. it!

    So that is cool what you said about the clock!!!! Love a good night bedside clock, like my blackberry once was.

    Question...is Bettercut not working on this.? I like to create my own icons and it like FREAKED out on me when I tried to create icons.

    So I'm trying anycut now!!! Hope it works. If i can create my own looking icons I will score this 100000%

    People need to try this!!!! lol.

    *EDIT* Got BetterCut to work...and yummo! Love flying through space on the live wallpaper :D

    Is there a dual clock widget on the market like this one in the picture. Fresh Had one....and I liked having two different time zones on my phone.

    [​IMG]
     
  21. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    I miss having to unlock to get to the security pattern, but since I haven't called anyone yet, it's pretty hard for me to pocket-dial someone at the moment, so I think I can live with it lol.

    This ROM looks like it's going to be a lot of fun in the near future.
     
  22. Konikub

    Konikub Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    42
    If I download the "updated" ROM (which supposedly has bluetooth)....do I just flash it over the current ROM I have now, or wipe.

    If I just flash over it....should I "flash update zip" or just simply flash...?

    WAIT A MINUTE....lol, this is called myelcair7 and not 6 (reason)????
     
  23. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    probably the 7th version he's had out.

    Looks like you should just be able to flash over it. I haven't bothered, I don't use bluetooth.

    Of course, you already got that question answered on XDA :p
     
  24. Konikub

    Konikub Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    42
    Yup, just got my answer...and flashed right over. Nothing was lost except the nexus launcher...which i just reinstalled.

    Do you think I could change the task bar from white to black???
     
  25. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    I don't see why not. I'm not entirely sure how to do it, but I assume you'd just flash a theme over (or a zip containing the taskbar)
     

Share This Page

Loading...