CyanogenMod 7 Unofficial Beta 5 02/20/12


Last Updated:

  1. im a genius

    im a genius Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    4



    this is what i found out, s2e work but settings dont stick in any menu.
    a2sd beta4 disables wifi and causes a error and it wont start.

    this is what worked for me,flash indigos a2sd make sure u mount sys. and data then reboot. when your phone loads back up reboot and flash a2sdbeta4.
     

    Advertisement
  2. hroark13

    hroark13 Well-Known Member Developer This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Messages:
    3,208
    Likes Received:
    3,990

    If you guys only new how many times I flashed roms that i just compiled or modded for testing, so I don't get into much customizing unless it is something that will stick if you do a factory wipe

    How does the appearance quality look after you made these changes

    i prefer performance over appearance, but I like to balance it a little

    what are your recomended setting for Release Version 1.0 of this ROM
     
  3. ron580

    ron580 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    63
    you can set the dalvik cache to 32 or below. your build.prop currently has its set to 64
    you can change some default cyanogenmod settings for an example it enables surface dithering. set the cpu governor to ondemand on default cyanogenmod settings it is set to performance that explains some battery drain issues some people are having. make it light remove unnecessary apps and create a RemovedApps.zip kinda like what bloodawn did on ctmod so users can replace what they want and add a lighter launcher like zeam.

    i did not notice any impact in quality by disabling surface dithering but i did see a huge increase in performance. here is some screen shots.
    [​IMG][​IMG]
     
  4. hroark13

    hroark13 Well-Known Member Developer This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Messages:
    3,208
    Likes Received:
    3,990
    have you had a chance to review this

    Barebones - CyanogenMod Wiki
     
  5. ron580

    ron580 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    63
  6. trenchkato

    trenchkato Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    127
    I finally have everything set up and running. The only issue I have is that the wifi will disconnect and reconnect to a network constantly. Even though I have my wifi sleep policy set to never
     
  7. ron580

    ron580 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    63
    Just passed the 2000 quadrant mark!!!
    [​IMG]
     
  8. divadkcul

    divadkcul Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    1
    i even did that and wont find on my computer and i forgot tell you that my usb debugging come on when plug in if turn it off the usb symbol turn off
     
  9. hroark13

    hroark13 Well-Known Member Developer This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Messages:
    3,208
    Likes Received:
    3,990

    can you access your sd card from the file manager
     
  10. hroark13

    hroark13 Well-Known Member Developer This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Messages:
    3,208
    Likes Received:
    3,990
    nice
     
  11. divadkcul

    divadkcul Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    1
    yes i can all files are there
     
  12. hroark13

    hroark13 Well-Known Member Developer This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Messages:
    3,208
    Likes Received:
    3,990

    not sure what to tell ya, why dont you try loading CT MOD or Odin to a stock ROM and see if it works
     
  13. exgenmeikoj

    exgenmeikoj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011
    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    78

    Ok ima explain. This for your USB to work u need a USB data cable which is a class c USB its mini USB plug into your computer make sure you have USB debugging of other wise the computer wont load the drivers correctly settings applications developement settings USB debugging its should reset the USB if does not work then its on your computer you must have a bad configuration or irq conflict toto control panel device manger look for USB host controllers if anyof them are grayed out u will need to fix them also check under smart card reader and then mass storage device if u see a yello sigh like icon that's ur problem also don't install s2e or a2sd post your summary
     
    divadkcul likes this.
  14. divadkcul

    divadkcul Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    1
    what is a great wireless teather app that can give good signal when you check it through speedtest
     
  15. exgenmeikoj

    exgenmeikoj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011
    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    78

    Goto Google type wireless tether android you will see a Google code page click it
     
  16. im a genius

    im a genius Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    4
    happened to me u have to flash cm7 over
     
  17. ron580

    ron580 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    63
    oh i also forgot to mention some lines i added to the build.prop

    debug.performance.tuning=1
    video.accelerate.hw=1
    windowsmgr.max_events_per_sec=180
     
  18. timghorton

    timghorton Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    15
    I would just like to say I love this mod, this is the best I've seen so far.

    Thanks a million
     
  19. trenchkato

    trenchkato Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    127
    I also noticed that the cpu governor was set to performance by default... changed it to ondemand... havent been using long enough to determine effect on battery...

    as far as unnecessary apps and the adw lancher... that is what comes in the cyanogenmod rom... and who is to say what is necessary or not...
     
  20. ron580

    ron580 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    63
    well inorder to make the rom lighter you will have to remove apks. For an example terminal emulator is included in cm7 that can be downloaded by the user. it all depends on what services the user needs as well that's why i said to include a RemovedApps.zip. I Doubt every user uses a vpn so therefore vpnservices.apk would be unnecessary to them. but it all depends on the user
     
  21. TryingToRoot

    TryingToRoot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    115
    Hey everyone, just wanted to say I am loving the new CM7 by Hroark. I am running hotfix2, s2e, updated adw, and have the new 3.1pre108 wifi tether running. Having only a couple of issues with fc's after reboot, but a simple retore data+app from titanium cures that right on up. Thank you Hroark for all that you do
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  22. mavrikmeercat

    mavrikmeercat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    Messages:
    733
    Likes Received:
    639
    sounds like you might have a bad USB cable.. It may even charge the phone. Mine did the same thing... no USB connected notif. but the debugging notif is there... It was a bad cable..

    My wife and I both have prevail and I can tell you also that you cant use any other mini USB chord. only samsung OEM chord. Ours are realy funny when it comes to the cable. if you try another chord, even though it's the same type of cable, when charging it will make the battery get hot and stuff..

    I wouldn't flash anything untill your sure it's not the chord

    This is the best place to get them. Best price!! I bought 4 http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-Replacement-Charging-SPH-M330-SCH-R100/dp/B001XXUOQI/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1324249370&sr=8-1
     
  23. abrahamramirez

    abrahamramirez Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    8
    tried it, i keep getting an error formatting sd-ext in cwm. i get E:format__volume: make_extf4fs fa
    block/mmcblk0p2
    error formatting /sd-ext
     
  24. TryingToRoot

    TryingToRoot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    115
    Not to disagree with ya bro, but the read speeds of a class 4 are more than enough to use for s2e or a2sd with no lag at all
     
  25. lMonsterl

    lMonsterl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,313
    Likes Received:
    602
    correct. doesn't it only go to class 6?

    4mb/s or 6mb/s, and they can be speed boosted
     

Share This Page

Loading...